Residents of the Gateway area will head to the polls Tuesday to vote for party representatives for the upcoming 2010 elections in November.

The primary election Tuesday will dwindle down not only the candidates for the governor race, but also an open local Iowa Senate election. Here is a list of some the races affecting the area Tuesday:

Governor (GOP) — Terry Branstad and Bob Vander Plaats have debated since last year about the upcoming election. They’ve toured the state and appear to be the top two candidates vying to challenge current Iowa Gov. Chet Culver. Rod Roberts is the third option, and looks to be trailing Branstad and Vander Plaats at the moment.

U.S. Senate (Dem.) — Roxanne Conlin appears to be the big favorite to challenge Sen. Charles Grassley in the November election. Conlin has outspent her opponents Tom Fiegen and Robert Krause by a large margin heading into Tuesday.

Iowa Senate District 13 — An open seat left by Roger Stewart (D) proves to be one of the closest contests of the local elections. Four candidates will eye the seat on the Democratic side, including Tod Bowman, Paul Feller, Ed O’Neill and Brian Moore.

Bowman is a retired educator from Maquoketa, while O’Neill is an economic developer in Clinton. Moore is a small business owner from Zwingle. Those three participated in a debate a few weeks ago, while Feller, was unable to attend. The winner of the Democratic primary will square off against Andrew Naeve in the November election.

Other races include:

U.S. House (GOP) — Will Johnson, Ben Lange, James Budde and Mike La Coste.

Treasurer of State (GOP) — James Heavens and David Jamison.

Secretary of State (GOP) — Chris Sanger, Matt Schultz and George Eichhorn.

Polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. until 9 p.m. Tuesday. Anyone who has not pre-registered to vote may vote at their polling location as an election day registrant.