CLINTON — In the six school districts in Clinton County, the Clinton School District was the only one with a contested school board election with four candidates running for two open seats.

Former Lyons Middle School staff member Joani Kittoe was the top vote getter with 562 votes. Clinton Community College teacher Stephen Teney won the second seat with 478 votes.

The two open seats were vacated by Dr. Donald Flory and Debra Olsen who chose not to seek reelection.

Former school board member Brian Angwin received 456 votes and Aaron Bitner, 382.

The Eastern Iowa Community College Bond issue passed districtwide in Clinton, Scott, Muscatine and Jackson counties.

This means that the college district will be allowed to issue $33 million in bonds over a 10-year period. The cost for residential property assessed at $100,000 will be approximately $1.27 a month.

The funds will be used to upgrade efforts in workforce education, technology and math and science facilities.

In Clinton, 632 voted for the measure and 344 cast no votes. Clinton County has had a historically low voter turnout for school board elections, and this year was no different. Clinton County Auditor Charlie Sheridan said Clinton County has 30,890 registered voters, but only 1,540 countywide took the opportunity to vote — or 4.99 percent of the eligible voters.

In Clinton 16,674 are registered to vote; 866 went to the polls and 68 voted absentee.

This Week's Circulars