The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

February 28, 2014

Ashford puts two on all-league squad

Special to the Herald
The Clinton Herald

---- — CLINTON – A pair of Ashford University women’s basketball players were recognized for their play Friday as the Association of Independent Institutions gave out its postseason awards.

Sophomore Jessica Mlachnik was named to the All-A.I.I. second team, while junior guard Madison Wagner collected honorable mention recognition after helping the Saints to a 10-20 regular season record and the No. 2 seed in the conference tournament. They face Rochester (Mich.) at 5 p.m. today in the semifinals at Kehl Arena.

Mlachnik, from Muskego, Wis., emerged as one of the Saints’ top players, averaging 8.0 points, 4.3 rebounds and 3.0 assists a game, leading the team in steals (38) and shooting 42.5 percent (82-for-193) from the floor and 40.9 percent (9-for-22) from long range.

Junior guard Wagner led the Saints with 10.3 points a game, grabbed 3.3 rebounds and shot 33.0 percent (102-for-309) from the floor and 70.9 percent (78-for-110) from the charity stripe. The Lancaster, Wis., native notched her 1,000th career point on Feb. 12 against Grand View, becoming the fourth Saint to reach the milestone.

Indiana University Northwest’s Megan Holland was named Conference Player of the Year, while IU-Northwest’s Ryan Shelton took home Coach of the Year honors.

ALL-ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT INSTITUTIONS First Team Megan Holland, IU-Northwest; Ke'ala Ka'aikala, Rochester; Kristen Ward, Johnson & Wales; Kourtney Shirley, Johnson & Wales; Nicki Monahan, IU-Northwest. Second Team Javana Bernard, Fisher; Amanda Weber, Johnson & Wales; Danisha Brown, Wilberforce; Jessica Mlachnik, Ashford; Danielle Zandstra, IU-Northwest. Honorable Mention Madison Wagner, Ashford; Tiffany Misch, Rochester; Porsha Grayson, Fisher; Kendra Moss, Wilberforce; Michaela Garcia, Walla Walla; Domonique Fischer, Wilberforce.