The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

February 26, 2014

Award to honor local teachers

The Clinton Herald

---- — CLINTON — Ashford University will honor local educators with a Teacher of the Year award and a full scholarship.

The full scholarship will be awarded to one of the university’s master’s level teacher education programs.

The scholarship winner may enroll in either of Ashford’s two online teacher education programs — The Master of Arts in Education or the Master of Arts in Teaching and Learning with Technology.

Ashford’s College of Education Dean Joen Larson said it’s important for the university to recognize local teachers.

“We encourage teachers who want to continue their education to apply for this scholarship and if you’ve had a teacher who has made a difference in your life or the life of your child, now is the perfect time to show your appreciation by nominating him or her,” Larson said.

The scholarship includes full program tuition, all books, and a technology fee waiver.

The recipient of the Teacher of the Year award will receive $500 for classroom materials or supplies.

To nominate someone for the “Teacher of the Year” award, send the following to Larson, Ashford University, P.O. Box 2967, Clinton, IA 52732:

n Your name and relationship to the nominee

n Your contact information (daytime phone number and email address)

n Nominee teacher’s name

n Nominee teacher’s contact information (daytime phone number and email address)

n Nominee teacher’s school name/district

n Nominee teacher’s grade level or subject

n Narrative describing why the teacher should receive the Ashford University Teacher of the Year award

Materials with information about the scholarship application process have been provided to area schools.

To be eligible, educators must be employed at a public or private K-12 school in the Iowa counties of Clinton, Scott or Jackson, the Illinois counties of Carroll, Whiteside or Rock Island, or any school district that has hosted Ashford student-teacher clinical placements.

Program participants must be employed at schools in these areas; residency is not a determining factor.

The deadline to apply for the scholarship or to submit nominations for the Teacher of the Year award is March 15.

For more information or to obtain application or nomination materials, contact Larson at 242-4023, ext. 7790.