The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

June 7, 2013

Dinner honors community leaders

Samantha Pidde Herald Staff Writer
The Clinton Herald

---- — CLINTON — Area business owners, leaders and volunteers were acknowledged during the Clinton Area Chamber of Commerce's 141st dinner.

Chamber President Nathan Sondgeroth highlighted some of the chamber's accomplishments during the past year. Sondgeroth told those attending the dinner that the chamber met its goal of taking in more funds than it spent in this fiscal year and has brought its membership to more than 600 people with better-attended and diverse events. He added that they have taken an active role in community government in the search for a new city administrator and have embraced social media.

Five people were honored with special awards during the meeting. Marsha Smith presented the Al Wise Memorial Award for Outstanding Chamber Volunteer to a person she said was instrumental in organizing RAGBRAI, Sue Raaymakers.

"She not only got volunteers to help with every step of the way but also spent most of her spring and early summer at the Chamber making sure this event was successful," Smith said.

Clinton County Sheriff Rick Lincoln was awarded the Community Leader of the Year Award by Supervisor Brian Schmidt. Schmidt said he has a way of putting people at ease when talking to them and has an innate ability and depth of empathy and compassion.

"What more can you ask for in a leader," Schmidt said. "He lives to serve."

Karen Vickers and Ann Eisenman, from Clinton Community College, named Lynn McGraw as the Small Business Person of the Year. She is the current treasurer of the Paul B. Sharar Foundation for the college and funds scholarships for CCC students.

"I just do what I feel like I need to do," McGraw said.

The Karl Schmitz Memorial Award was given to Sara Misiewicz by Ambassador Chairman Donna Winter. She said Misiewicz has been an active ambassador for more than 10 years and is always positive and professional about the local businesses.

Tom Moser said Beth Spalding is a "can do" leader who beings a positive attitude to every project she is assigned. He presented her the Manager of the Year Award for her work at Medical Associates.

The chamber also thanked outgoing board chairman Mark Schroeder for his service and welcomed Karen Vickers as the new chairwoman. Outgoing members were also thanked for their service. Tim Bollmann, Jason Dennis , Jay Sanders and Kevin Steins were welcomed to the board of directors.

Sondgeroth also ran a slide show remembering the late Mary Jo Kinkaid. Kinkaid, who died recently, worked for the chamber and the Convention and Visitors Bureau for 21 years.