The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

October 9, 2013

Mustangs 2nd in 1A regional

Herald Staff Report
The Clinton Herald

---- — GALENA, Ill. — Morrison qualified for next week’s sectional boys golf tournament with a second-place finish Tuesday at the Illinois Class 1A Galena Regional meet.

Sophomore Noah Hogue shot an 80 at Galena Golf Course to tie for second individually and lead the Mustangs, whose 354-stroke team total was three shots better than Lena-Winslow. Both teams qualified for the sectional meet next Monday at Prairie View Golf Course in Byron, Ill., along with regional champion Stockton.

The Blackhawks won the title easily behind meet medalist Trey Timpe. Stockton finished with a 328 team total, while Timpe, a senior, shot a 76. The Blackhawks’ Cameron Upmann tied Hogue for second place overall with an 80.

Logan Moothart led Lena-Winslow with an 84.

Morrison’s other counted scores were an 88 by junior Brock Smith and 93s from senior Nick Kaufman and junior Colton Smith.

Fulton junior Lucas Wiebenga and senior Matt Dail advanced as individuals to the sectional meet with top-10 finishes by players from non-qualifying teams. Wiebenga was one of three players to shoot an 85 — along with Prophetstown junior Grant Ames and Warren’s Chris Arnold — the best score for players from non-advancing teams. Dail shot a 90.

Fulton placed fifth in the team standings with a 371. West Carroll finished in ninth place with a 403 team total, Erie took 11th place with a 417 and Prophetstown was 12th with a 428.


Galena Golf Course

Team standings

(Top 3 qualify for sectional meet)

1. Stockton 328; 2. Morrison 354; 3. Lena-Winslow 357; 4. Riverdale 364; 5. Fulton 371; 6. Galena 384; 7. Warren 387; 8. East Dubuque 395; 9. West Carroll 403; 10. Pearl City 415; 11. Erie 417; 12. Prophetstown 428; 13. River Ridge 462.

Individual leaders

1. Trey Timpe (Stock) 76; 2. (tie) Noah Hogue (Mor), Cameron Upmann (Stock) 80; 4. Aric Jordan (Stock) 83; 5. Logan Moothart (LW) 84.

Individual sectional qualifiers

(Top 10 finishers from non-advancing teams)

1. (tie) Chris Arnold (War), Lucas Wiebenga (Ful), Grant Ames (Proph) 85; 4. Bentley Sweet (Riv) 87; 5. Dylan Lange (ED) 89; 6. (tie) Cameron Mayo (Riv), Matt Dail (Ful), Jake Spangler (Gal), Reed Spangler (Gal), Kyle Runkle (War) 90.

STOCKTON — Timpe 76, Upmann 80, Jordan 83, Zach Lacher 89, Peyton Keeffer 109.

MORRISON — Hogue 80, Brock Smith 88, Colton Smith 93, Nick Kaufman 83, Ben Tegeler 94, Anthony Tenboer 102.

LENA-WINSLOW — Moothart 84, Sean Cory 89, Kyle Jensen 90, Quinn Sowle 94, Brett Meador 100, Brett Sisler 125.