The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

August 6, 2013

Five locals receive top honors

Herald Staff Report
The Clinton Herald

---- — DES MOINES — All-State teams by the Iowa Newspaper Association were unveiled today. The selection is a collaborative effort of coaches and newspaper writers around the state. Five local players were honored with first, second and third team designations in the 2A, 3A and 4A classes.

State semifinalist Clinton received one nod on the second team roster. Second baseman Cody Collender led the River Kings in home runs, RBIs, batting average and steals while helping the team to a deep playoff run. Five other Mississippi Athletic Conference players joined Collender: pitcher Derek Burkamper (Muscatine) and infielder Brandon Engler (North Scott) were first teamers; catcher Trent Herman (Muscatine) joined Collender on the second team; and Justin Hill (pitcher, Bettendorf) and Zach Patterson (outfielder, Burlington) received third team nods.

Collender’s coach, Kevin Cunningham, called the news “a tremendous honor.”

“Obviously I think it’s outstanding to have a kid make first or second team All State. It punctuates the kind of season we’ve had in a way,” Cunningham said.

The coach noted the Collender’s development over the last few seasons. Cunningham said the player evolved from a player who hit solely for power to a well-rounded mainstay of Clinton’s infield.

“He really was receptive to the coaching we gave him at the plate and as far as defense,” Cunningham said. “He became a more complete hitter. He could hit for power but he also learned to swing for base hits or gaps. That’s probably the biggest difference between his junior and senior year.”

In 3A, Central DeWitt was honored with a player on each the first, second and third team. Catcher Jake Thumann led the Sabers from the backstop to a substate finals finish. He was named to the first team, while teammate T.J. Sikkema was the only freshman of any class to receive All-State honors. Sikkema was placed on the 3A second team as an outfielder. Rounding out the Saber selections was senior Austin Lechtenberg, a third team outfielder.

In class 2A, Northeast’s Charlie Marcucci received third team honors as an outfielder.

Coinciding with the selections, four players — one for each class — were named All-State team captains. They were Sioux City East’s Dom Thompson-Williams (4A), Clear Lake’s Gavin Sheakley (3A), Beckman Catholic’s Joey Lehmann (2A) and Newman Catholic’s Casey Hall (1A).

Announced last week, two local players were named to the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association’s All-Academic teams. Clinton’s Ryan Driscoll was a second team selection and Bellevue-Marquette’s Isaac Sturm received first team honors.

Iowa Newspaper Association All-State Baseball Teams

Class 4A

First Team

Pitchers —Derek Burkamper (sr., Muscatine), Colby Carmichael (jr., Des Moines East), Keaton McKinney (jr., Ankeny)

Catcher — Nate Hunter (jr., Dowling Catholic)

First Base — Chino Alcala (soph., Des Moines East)

Infielders — Reid Bonner (sr., Iowa City West), Brandon Engler (sr., North Scott), Blake Meacham (sr., Sioux City North)

Outfielders — Dom Thompson-Williams* (sr., Sioux City East), Robert Hansen (jr., Des Moines East), Malique Ziegler (jr., Des Moines East)

Utility — Ben Miller (sr., Valley - West Des Moines), Matt Johnson (sr., Ankeny)

Second Team

Pitchers — Tyus Adkins (sr., Iowa City West), Austin Stroschein (sr., Linn-Mar), Joe Hawks (sr., Johnston)

Catcher — Trent Herman (jr., Muscatine)

First Base — Joe Bappe (jr., Ames)

Infielders — Cody Collender (sr., Clinton), Brandt Ollinger (soph., Linn-Mar), Ty Mougin (sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie)

Outfielders — Tanner Hinkle (sr., Valley West Des Moinest), Brandon Carlson (sr., Sioux City East), Ezra Reiners (sr., Iowa City West)

Utility — Collin Schulz (sr., Ottumwa), Tyler Franko (sr., Sioux City East)

Class 3A

First Team

Pitchers — Gavin Sheakley* (sr., Clear Lake), Dylan Nelson (sr., ADM Adel), Joseph Hietpas (jr., Fairfield)

Catcher — Jake Thumann (sr., Central DeWitt)

First Base — Brett Slight (jr., Boone)

Infielders — Mitch Moser (sr. Benton Community), Jordan Baughman (sr., Chariton), Kolby Greenslade (sr., Norwalk)

Outfielders — Austin Peterson (sr., Chariton), Jacob Lamoreux (sr., Le Mars), Brady Mayo (jr., Bishop Heelan)

Utility — Tyler Cropley (jr., Bishop Heelan), Cody Marine (sr., Williamsburg)

Second Team

Pitchers — Anthony Ruden (sr., Wahlert), Andrew Quested (jr., Davenport Assumption), Brandon Hodges (jr., Saydel)

Catcher — Matt Hoffmann (jr., Wahlert)

First Base — Justin Dilks (jr., Mount Pleasant)

Infielders — Josey Jewell (sr., Decorah), Jake Daeges (sr., Harlan), Kevin Woodhouse (soph., Knoxville)

Outfielders — Will Whiton (soph., Perry), Jake Lewis (sr., Dallas Center-Grimes), T.J. Sikkema (fr., Central DeWitt)

Utility — David Ratigan (sr., Harlan), Eli Dunne (jr., Grinnell)

Third Team

Pitchers — Taylor Gilson (sr., Oelwein), Chris Comito (soph., Norwalk), Justin Fisher (sr., Glenwood)

Catcher — Logan Essy (jr., ADM Adel)

First Base — Andy Heffner (sr., Le Mars)

Infielders — Ben Jacobson (sr., Humbolt), Aaron Krier (sr., Storm Lake), Brett Braida (jr., Chariton)

Outfielders — Philip Jacobson (jr., Bishop Heelan), Austin Lechtenberg (sr., Central DeWitt), Mitch Keeran (soph., Clear Lake)

Utility — Kolton Gonnerman (jr., Centerville), Parker Rolfes (sr., Le Mars)

Class 2A — Northeast’s Charlie Marcucci was named Third Team All-State at outfield

* — Denotes 3A/4A captains