The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

November 6, 2012

Four Queens honored by MAC

Wing, Harris on MAC first team for third time

Herald Staff Report

DAVENPORT — Clinton volleyball standouts Alyssa Wing and Monique Harris earned first-team honors for the third year in a row when the Mississippi Athletic Conference released its all-conference volleyball teams Monday.

The familiarities don’t end there.

Six of the eight first-team players were repeat selections from 2011, and the other two first-team picks from a year ago landed on the second team this year in the conference that will have four representatives at this week’s state tournament in Cedar Rapids.

Pleasant Valley senior Chloe Miller, like Wing and Harris a three-time first-team pick, was named Player of the Year. She led the Spartans to a first-place tie with North Scott in the conference standings. Each team finished 8-1, one game ahead of the River Queens. Miller ranked third in the MAC in aces (.74 a set) and fourth in kills (3.90), and she also averaged 342 digs a game.

Wing finished the season with 472 kills (5.43 a game) and moved into first place on the school’s list of career leaders in the category. She averaged a conference-leading 5.79 kills a set in 34 conference games, more than one a game better than anyone else. A 6-foot-2 outside hitter who will attend Nevada-Las Vegas on a volleyball scholarship, Wing had a .446 kill efficiency (kills minus errors divided by total attacks) and averaged .53 blocks a game. Her talents went far beyond her ability at the net, though. She also ranked in the top 10 in the MAC in digs (3.97 a set) and ace serves (.59). She finished ninth in school history with 700 digs.

Harris, a junior, was usually the one getting the ball to Wing. She led the conference with 10.74 assists a set. Her average of 9.74 assists a game was second best in Clinton history, and she will enter her senior season ranked second all-time and needing 571 assists to become the school’s career leader. Like Wing, though, she was far from one-dimensional. She ranked second in the MAC in aces (.79 a set) and averaged 3.15 digs, 1.06 kills and .47 blocks a game. She ranks second in school history with 216 aces (six shy of taking the lead) and fourth with 741 digs (59 short of being No. 2).

The rest of the first-team selections come from state-qualifying teams — Morgan Waterman of Pleasant Valley, Caitlin Wernentin of Bettendorf, Danielle Cabel of Davenport Assumption and North Scott’s Erin Mead and Hannah Lindaman. None of them are strangers to all-conference accolades.

Waterman, Wernentin and Lindaman all were named to the first team a year ago, and Waterman and Wernentin were second-team picks in 2010, when Lindaman was named honorable mention. Cabel was a second-team pick last year and honorable mention in 2010 as a freshman, while Mead was honorable mention each of the past two years.

The league was so tough this fall that two of last year’s first-team picks, Lexi Flynn of Assumption and Emily Hermiston of North Scott, slipped to the second team this season and two-time second-teamer Ashley Schabilion of North Scott was honorable mention.

Clinton junior Erin Wenzel also was named to the second team, and River Queens freshman Elle Tubbs was named honorable mention.

Wenzel ranked fifth in the MAC with 3.65 kills a set, and Tubbs was ninth in blocks (.88).

Stacey Ruff of Pleasant Valley was voted Coach of the Year. Bettendorf, Burlington, Davenport Central and Davenport North shared the sportsmanship award with perfect scores.


First team

Chloe Miller, sr. (Pleasant Valley); Danielle Cabel, jr. (Davenport Assumption); Alyssa Wing, sr. (Clinton); Monique Harris, jr. (Clinton); Morgan Waterman, jr. (Pleasant Valley); Caitlin Wernentin, jr. (Bettendorf); Erin Mead, sr. (North Scott); Hannah Lindaman, sr. (North Scott).

Second team

Shalynn Greenhaw, jr. (Muscatine); Lexi Flynn, jr. (Davenport Assumption); Alex Walgren, sr. (Muscatine); Megan Paustian, sr. (Pleasant Valley); Erin Wenzel, jr. (Clinton); Emily Hermiston, sr. (North Scott); Anna Willey, jr. (Bettendorf); Clarissa Block, jr. (Davenport North); Shelby Brandt, sr. (Bettendorf).

Honorable mention

Bettendorf — Danielle Pennington, fr.; Tessa Henderson, sr. Burlington — Bailey Darnall, so. Clinton — Elle Tubbs, fr. Davenport Assumption — Kate Fennelly, sr.; Hailey Schneden, sr. Davenport Central — Raegan Menke, jr. Aly Knutsen, jr. Davenport North — Chloe Blick, sr.; Alisha Jones, sr. Davenport West — Morgan Ripperger, jr. Muscatine — Kaylee Jones, sr.; Katie Shoultz, jr. North Scott — Ashley Schabilion, sr. Pleasant Valley — Kayla Ruff, jr.; Sydney Strawser, jr.

Final MAC standings

    W    L

Pleasant Valley    8    1

North Scott    8    1

Clinton    7    2

Bettendorf    6    3

Dav. Assumption    6    3

Muscatine    4    5

Dav. North    3    6

Dav. West    2    7

Dav. Central    1    8

Burlington    0    9