The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

November 11, 2013

Volleyball: MAC All-Conference announced

Herald Staff Report

---- —

DAVENPORT – Clinton High School seniors Monique Harris and Erin Wenzel were named first team on the All-Mississippi Athletic Conference volleyball team that was released today.

Harris earned first-team honors for the fourth year in a row, while Wenzel was a second-team pick a year ago and honorable mention as a sophomore.

Harris was one of the top all-around players in the conference. She led the MAC with 67 aces, .85 a game, and averaged 8.28 assists a game, ranking third in the league; 3.57 digs, sixth in the MAC; 1.01 kills and .44 blocks.

Wenzel led the MAC with 4.84 kills a set, and she finished with a .329 attack percentage. She also averaged 2.6 digs, .63 blocks and .30 aces a game.

River Queens sophomore Elle Tubbs was a second-team pick after earning honorable mention honors as a freshman.

Tubbs averaged 2.59 kills, .53 aces, .89 digs and .30 blocks a game.

Harris, who finished her career as Clinton's all-time leader in assists and aces, was one of four repeat selections on the first team. The others were Davenport Assumption's Danielle Cabel, Pleasant Valley's Morgan Waterman and Bettendorf's Caitlin Wernentin. All three were seniors, and Waterman and Wernentin were second-team picks as sophomores.

Conference champion Bettendorf put two other players on the first team, including Player of the Year Devan Porter. Diane Lichtenberg of Bettendorf was named Coach of the Year. Anna Willey, a second-team pick in 2012, also was honored for the Bulldogs.

Porter averaged 3.07 kills, 2.53 digs, .69 blocks and .39 aces a game.

The other player on the first team Muscatine senior Shalyn Greenhaw, a second-team pick each of the past two years.

Leading the second team was Assumption's Lexi Flynn, a 2011 first-team pick who made the second team a year ago, too.

In addition to filling all eight first-team spots, seniors accounted for five of the eight second-team picks and 11 of the 15 honorable mention players.


First team

Devan Porter, sr., Bettendorf; Monique Harris, sr., Clinton; Danielle Cabel, sr., Davenport Assumption; Shalyn Greenhaw, sr., Muscatine; Erin Wenzel, sr., Clinton; Caitlin Wernentin, sr., Bettendorf; Anna Willey, sr., Bettendorf; Morgan Waterman, sr., Pleasant Valley.

Second team

Allie Carter, sr., Pleasant Valley; Katie Shoultz, sr., Muscatine; Lexi Flynn, sr., Davenport Assumption; Ellie Tubbs, so., Clinton; Raegan Menke, sr., Davenport Central; Bailey Darnall, jr., Burlington; Sydney Strawser, sr., Pleasant Valley; Emma Whigham, jr., Pleasant Valley.

Honorable mention

Bettendorf – Danielle Pennington, so.; Hannah Matt, sr. Davenport Assumption – Jamie White, sr. Davenport Central – Tadaisha Thornton, sr.; Aly Knutsen, sr. Davenport North – Clarissa Blick, sr. Davenport West – Morgan Ripperger, sr.; Bailie Brady, sr. Muscatine – Emily Clemens, sr.; Rachel Beatty, sr. North Scott – McKenna Heim, jr.; Rachel Edmundson, jr.; Chloe Gottschalk, sr.; Karly Soy, jr. Pleasant Valley – Kayla Ruff, sr.


Conf. Overall


Bettendorf* 9 0 34 2

Clinton 7 2 20 10

Muscatine 7 2 22 12

Pleasant Valley* 7 2 28 6

Dav. Assumption* 5 4 31 6

North Scott 4 5 5 24

Dav. West 3 6 9 20

Dav. Central 2 7 5 22

Burlington 1 8 10 18

Dav. North 0 9 10 15

* – Playing in state tournament this week