The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

August 16, 2013

Coaches choose Collender, Thumann

Herald Staff Report
The Clinton Herald

---- — DES MOINES — The Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association (IHSBCA) has announced its annual All-State teams for all four Iowa classes as well as the “Super Team” featuring their top selections of 2013. Four local players were named to various rosters.

Jake Thumann, Central DeWitt’s highly decorated catcher, was one of two catchers named to the Super Team. The senior was the top Sabers slugger and led the 32-11 team with 41 RBIs, 54 runs and eight home runs while batting .449.

Thumann’s teammate, outfielder Austin Lechtenberg, joined the catcher as a coaches’ selection by being named Class 3A First Team All-State. Lechtenberg batted .401 and tallied 61 hits, 13 doubles, 45 runs and 23 RBIs.

Clinton infielder Cody Collender added another award to his stellar season by being named to the Class 4A First Team. Collender led second basemen statewide with nine home runs while leading the state qualifying River Kings with a .434 average, 44 RBIs, 11 doubles and 46 runs.

In Class 2A, Northeast’s Charlie Marcucci received Second Team honors. Marcucci was the Rebels’ top bat with a .462 average and led the team with 38 runs. The outfielder was also a stunning 38-for-39 on stolen bases, good for fourth in 2A.

Iowa City West second baseman Reid Bonner was named the Pro Line/IHSBCA Player of the Year and received Super Team honors alongside Thumann.

IHSBCA 2013 All-State Teams

Super Team

Pitchers — Jacob Hadaway (sr., North Polk), Derek Burkamper (sr., Muscatine), Gavin Sheakley (sr., Clear Lake)

Catchers — Jake Thumann (sr., Central DeWitt), Nate Hunter (jr., Dowling Catholic)

First base — Keaton McKinney (sr., Ankeny)

Second base — Reid Bonner (sr., Iowa City West)

Shortstop — Jordan Baughman (sr., Chariton)

Third base — Blake Meachum (sr., Sioux City North)

Outfielders — Dom Thompson-Williams (sr., Sioux City West), Tanner Hinkle (sr., West Des Moines Valley), Jacob Lamoreux (sr., LeMars), Austin Peterson (sr., Chariton)

Utility — Cole Crawford (sr., Wilton), Joey Lehmann (sr., Dyersville-Beckman), Colby Carmichael (jr., Des Moines East)

Class 4A First Team

Pitchers — Kyle Duncan (sr., West Des Moines Valley), Austin Stroschein (sr., Linn-Mar), Joe Hawks (sr., Johnston)

Catchers — Phil Velez (sr., Southeast Polk), Trent Hermann (jr., Muscatine)

First base — Joe Bappe (jr., Ames)

Second base — Cody Collender (sr., Clinton)

Shortstop — Ty Mougin (sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie)

Third base — Brandon Engler (sr., North Scott)

Outfielders — Ezra Reiners (sr., Iowa City West), Malique Ziegler (jr., Des Moines East), Josh Crosby (sr., Iowa City High), Seth Griffiths (sr., Ottumwa)

Utility — Chino Alcala (jr., Des Moines East), Ben Miller (sr., West Des Moines Valley), Matt Johnson (sr., Ankeny)

Class 3A First Team

Pitchers — Ethan Kenkel (sr., Storm Lake), Dylan Nelson (sr., ADM), Parker Rolfes (sr., LeMars)

Catchers — Logan Essy (jr., ADM), Kendall Candor (sr., LeMars)

First base — Brett Slight (jr., Boone)

Second base — Cody Marine (sr., Williamsburg)

Shortstop — Mitch Moser (sr., Benton Community)

Third base — Ben Jacobson (sr., Humbolt)

Outfielders — Will Whiton (soph., Perry), Jordan McFarlane (sr., Benton Community), Austin Lechtenberg (sr., Central DeWitt), Brady Mayo (jr., Sioux City Heelan)

Utility — Kyle Herrick (sr., ADM), Aaron Krier (sr., Storm Lake), Anthony Ruden (sr., Dubuque Wahlert)

*Northeast senior Charlie Marcucci was named to the Class 2A All-State Second Team as one of four outfielder.