The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Breaking News


July 2, 2014

Jackson County included in disaster proclamation

DES MOINES — Gov. Terry Branstad has issued another disaster proclamation for counties affected by recent severe weather in Iowa.

Branstad's proclamation Tuesday means state resources can be used to respond to ongoing flooding and severe weather in six additional counties. They are Black Hawk, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Louisa and Muscatine counties.

The proclamation also means several counties will be able to utilize the state's individual assistance program. That offers grants of up to $5,000 to certain low-income households.

The National Weather Service says at least three tornadoes hit the state Monday. The proclamation covers severe weather and flooding that began Thursday.

Branstad issued a similar proclamation Monday for Adair, Cedar, Guthrie, Jones and Linn counties.

Text Only
Clinton Herald Photos

Browse, buy and submit pictures with our photo site.

AP Video
Featured Comment
Front page
Featured Ads
Local Radar
Blue Zones Project

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.