4-18-13 PBL photo

Students from Ashford University's Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) organization attended the 2013 Iowa State Leadership Conference at the University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls on April 5 and 6. Pictured before they left for the conference are (seated) Breanna Van Oosten, Lexie Kibler, Karley Wahl, Stephanie Nessling, Andrea Herin and Gema Delgado; (standing) Amber LeBlanc, Jesse Lawson, Steve Wanda, Lance DeShane, Zaak Williams, Alex Richie, Benito Garcia, Emmanuel Panchol, Jeff Mussman (back), Alex Kivali (front), Andrew Filler, Ben Ingram, Patrick Kommer and David Ward, adviser.

Submitted photo
The Clinton Herald

CLINTON — Nineteen members of Ashford University’s Phi Beta Lambda student organization participated in the Iowa PBL Spring Leadership Conference at the University of Northern Iowa on April 5 and 6.

Besides attending workshops on leadership and career development, the members participated in academic competitions and brought home 25 awards. The results were as follows:

First-place winners

Andrea Herin, Chadwick, Ill. - Contemporary Sports

Gema Delgado, Rockford, Ill. - Justice Administration

Garret Branch, Roscommon, Mich. - Management Concepts

Breanna Van Oosten, Fulton, Ill.; Jesse Lawson, Sabula, and Lexie Kibler, Camanche - Financial Services

Jesse Lawson and Alex Richie, St. Louis - Strategic Analysis & Decision Making

Second-place winners

Patrick Kommer, Clinton - Financial Concepts

Alex Richie - Public Speaking

Andrew Filler, Clinton - Hospitality Management

Stephanie Nessling, Thayer, Mo. - Justice Administration

Steve Wanda, Bettendorf - Information Management

Ben Ingram, Davenport; Andrew Filler and Lexie Kibler - Business Decision Making

Ben Ingram; Lance DeShane, Hillside, Ill. and Alex Richie - Management Analysis and Decision Making

Third-place winners:

Breanna Van Oosten; Amber LeBlanc, Anchorage, Alaska, and Zaak Williams, Lake Ozark, Mo. - Accounting Analysis

Patrick Kommer, Amber LeBlanc and Steve Wanda - Financial Analysis

Jeff Mussman, Clinton, and Emmanuel Panchol, Rockford, Ill. - Business Ethics

Ben Ingram - Financial Concepts

Fourth-place winners

Zaak Williams - Microeconomics

Lance DeShane - Business Law

Andrew Filler - International Business

Steven Wanda - Marketing Concepts

Fifth-place winners

Andrea Herin - Job Interview

Zaak Williams - Business Law

Lance DeShane - Marketing Concepts

Makenna Yoerger, Clinton - Project Management

Gema Delgado - Statistical Analysis

First- and second-place winners will now advance to the national PBL conference in Anaheim, Calif., on June 22-25.

Other schools participating in the Iowa conference and competition included AIB College of Business, Des Moines Area Community College, Dakota State University, Grandview University, Lora College, University of Iowa, University of Minnesota, University of Northern Iowa, Upper Iowa University and Wartburg College.



This Week's Circulars