The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

November 30, 2013

Music students participate in regional music festivals

The Clinton Herald

---- — MORRISON, Ill. — Fifteen Morrison Junior High and High school students collaborated with hundreds of other students from 85 northwestern Illinois schools at the Illinois Music Educators Association District 8 Festival last month.

These students worked together in a day of rehearsals to put together two concerts of choral and instrumental music. Earning a place in one of the festival ensembles is a distinct honor for the students.

Held in the newly constructed Dekalb High School, the students performed in one of five musical ensembles under distinguished guest conductors. Junior ensembles included a band, mixed chorus and treble chorus. Senior ensembles included a band and a mixed chorus.

Participating in the senior band from Morrison were Eryn Young, clarinet, and Colleen Elfline, alto saxophone. Participating in the senior chorus were Kurtis Klimson, Kyle McCoy and Morgan McCulloh.

Participating in the junior band were Kaleb McCoy and Morgan Stuhlmann, clarinet; Grant Abell, trumpet, and Dallas Wagenecht, euphonium. Participating in the junior mixed chorus were Allison Houldson and Zachariah Osborn, and participating in the Junior Treble Chorus were Joy Sipes, Cassie Osborn, Chloe Stingley and Megan Emerson.

Two MHS students, Colleen Elfline and Ashley Hagerman, participated in the Illinois Music Educators Association District 8 Jazz Festival on Saturday, Nov. 9, at Rochelle High School. Colleen played the second alto saxophone part and Ashley played vibraphone in the Senior Jazz Band.

Nearly 2,000 students auditioned to be a member of these five ensembles and approximately 700 were selected to actually participate. The Illinois Music Educators Association provides festivals of this sort in nine different regions across the state. Throughout the state more than 12,000 students took part in ILMEA activities. District 8 comprises the counties of Jo Davies, Carroll, Whiteside, Lee, Ogle, Dekalb, Boone, Winnebago and Stephenson and encompasses more than 100 middle and high schools.