The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Breaking News

Local Sports

May 10, 2014

Kings take second in MAC tennis

RIVERDALE — Clinton won two of its six third-place matches Friday and wound up tied with Davenport Assumption for third place in the Mississippi Athletic Conference boys tennis tournament hosted by Pleasant Valley.

Pleasant Valley won five of the nine head-to-head championship matches against Bettendorf and edged its nearby rival 23-22 for the team title. Clinton and Assumption each scored 7.5 points.

Junior Rohan Aggarwal placed third in second-flight singles for Clinton, and the doubles team of Cyrus Colah and Connor Nolan took second at No. 2 doubles.

Aggarwal defeated Davenport Central's Will McKay 6-0, 6-2.

"After not receiving a (top-four) seed in Wednesday night’s seeding meeting, Rohan was determined to prove that he was a top player in the MAC," Clinton coach Jonathan Mitchell said. "I think his third-place finish confirmed that he is a top-notch player in our conference.”

Colah and Nolan combined to beat Assumption's Thomas Resnick and Luke Fennelly 6-3, 7-6 (7-5).

“Cyrus Colah and Connor Nolan have only played doubles together for a little over a week, but they complement each other so well on the court," Mitchell said. "Connor has a positive energy that helps our guys stay calm, while Cyrus’ tennis IQ is through the roof.”

Freshman Sameeer Ansari and sophomore Colin Nelson each placed fourth in singles, both falling in three-set matches. In the other doubles matches, Evan Hood and Aggarwal placed fourth at No. 1, and Nelson and Ansari were fourth at No. 3.


Team standings

1. Pleasant Valley 23; 2. Bettendorf 22; 3. (tie) Clinton, Davenport Assumption 7.5; 5. Davenport Central 6; 6. Muscatine 4; 7. (tie) Davenport West, North Scott 2.5; 9. Burlington 1; 10. Davenport North 0.5.


No. 1 — Championship: Charlie Humes (PV) def. Michal Porubcin (Bett) 6-0, 6-0. Third place — Trey Van Hemert (Mus) def. Joseph Shie (DC) 6-2, 7-6.

No. 2 — Championship: Sriram Sugumaran (PV) def. Bryce Brien (Bett) 3-6, 6-2, 10-3. Third place: Rohan Aggarwal (C) def. Will McKay (DC) 6-0, 6-2.

No. 3 — Championship: Sam Perenich (PV) def. Isaac Luebke (Bett) 6-3, 6-4. Third place — JK Houghton (DC) def. Thomas Resnick (DA) 6-7, 6-4, 10-3.

No. 4 — Championship: Abhishek Gowa (PV) def. Josh Sumhlej (Bett) 6-4, 6-3. Third place: Ben Morgan (Mus) def. Thomas Corbin (DC) 6-0, 7-6.

No. 5 — Championship: Jacob Logan (Bett) def. Ajay Penmatcha (PV) 6-1, 6-1. Third place: Sean McPherson (DC) def. Sameer Ansari 6-4, 3-6, 10-7.

No. 6 — Championship: Nathan Belcher (Bett) def. Alex Ocel (PV) 6-4, 3-6, 10-6. Third place: Matt Tjaden (DA) def. Colin Nelson 4-6, 6-2, 10-7.


No. 1 — Championship: Brein/Porubein (Bett) def. Perenich/Sugumaran (PV) 6-4, 6-7, 10-8. Third place: Sean Baldwin/Jimmy Huiskamp (DA) def. Evan Hood/Rohan Aggarwal 6-1, 6-3.

No. 2 — Championship: Gowda/Humes (PV) def. Logan/Sumhlej (Bett) 6-0, 6-1. Third place: Cyrus Colah/Connor Nolan (C) def. Resnick/Luke Fennelly (DA) 6-3, 7-6 (7-5).

No. 3 — Championship: Belcher/Luebke (Bett) def. Ocel/Penmatcha (PV) 6-2, 6-2. Third place: Daniel Rohlf/Tjaden (DA) def. Nelson/Ansari (C) 6-1, 4-6, 10-4.


Text Only
Local Sports
Front page
Clinton Herald Photos

Browse, buy and submit pictures with our photo site.


What are your plans for the weekend?

Enjoying the outdoors
Staying in out of the heat
     View Results
AP Video
Olympics 2014
Featured Comment
Featured Ads
Blue Zones Project

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.