EDUCATION NOTES: Missouri S&T awards degrees at annual commencement

ROLLA, Mo. — Nearly 1,200 candidates received degrees during commencement ceremonies at Missouri University of Science and Technology. The university awards bachelor of science, bachelor of arts, master of science and doctor of philosophy degrees.

Cole Thomas Stuedemann, of Clinton, earned a bachelor of science in petroleum engineering.

Kirkwood announces Dean’s List honors

CEDAR RAPIDS — Kirkwood Community College has released its Dean’s List for the spring 2018 semester. These students have achieved a 3.3 grade-point average or higher after completing 12 or more credit hours at the college.

Kirkwood students from the area earning this distinction are:

Bellevue: Taylor Schulte, Taylor Triphan.

Bryant: Matthew Eickert.

Calamus: Caitlyn Daniel, Caitlin Hart.

Camanche: Austin Decker, Andrew Edens, David Gonzalez, Callie Hilgendorf.

Clinton: Tanner Dell, Alexis Dickinson, Samantha McCue, Cailey Olson, Brittany Paasch, Alexandra Schluns, Miranda Schnier, Rachelle Susie.

DeWitt: Hope Finley, Mikayla Overkamp, Anthony Sievers, Jacob Minick.

Erie, Illinois: Lindsay Gibson.

Fulton, Illinois: Jason Ryder.

Grand Mound: Noah Crosthwaite.

La Motte: Hayden Herrig, Holly Herrig, Caitlin Troy.

Lost Nation: Callie Feuss.

Low Moor: Nicole Nicholas.

Maquoketa: Lauryn Eganhouse, Justin Snyder.

Preston: Hannah Bormann, Melissa Strait.

Savanna, Illinois: Paige Grissinger.

Sterling, Illinois: Jade Martinez.

Thomson, Illinois: Brianna Davis.

Wheatland: Heather Jackson.

Western Illinois University awards degrees

MOLINE, ILL. — A total of 1,335 students earned academic degrees or post-baccalaureate certificates after the Spring 2018 semester at Western Illinois University. Of these, 162 graduates' primary attendance site was the WIU-Quad Cities campus.

Bachelor's degrees were awarded to 862 graduates. Local students earning degrees include:


Michele Lynn Munson, Master of Science in Education, School Counseling.

Mitchell Roth, Bachelor of Business, Finance.


Jordan Lee Davis, (Magna Cum Laude), Bachelor of Science in Education, Elementary Education.

Gabrielle Marie Hoffman, Master of Science in Education, School Counseling.

Area students receive Dean's List recognition

GREENVILLE, ILL. — The following students were placed on the Dean's List at Greenville University for the Spring 2018 semester.

Morrison, Illinois

Autumn Van Buren, junior.

Kelsey Middleton, senior.

Prophetstown, Illinois

Joshua Paul, junior

NIU announces Spring 2018 Dean's List

DEKALB, ILL. — Northern Illinois University has announced its spring 2018 Dean's List students. Students from the local area who achieved this honor include:

Fulton, Illinois

Zachariah Dick, Computational Math and Computational Software, Fulton High School.

Lanark, Illinois

Keller Burkholder, Electrical and Computer Engineer, Eastland High School.

Heather Larak, Pre-Nursing, Eastland High School.

Morrison, Illinois

Andrew Screnock, Operations and Info Management, Morrison High School.

Cassidy VanZuiden, Communicative Disorders, Morrison High School.

Thomas Wierenga, Psychology - B.A., Morrison High School.

Thomson, Illinois

Ryan Habben, Actuarial Science, Milledgeville High School.

ECC announces Spring Term Dean's List

IOWA FALLS — A total of 114 students were named to the Spring 2018 Dean's List at Ellsworth Community College. Local students include:

DeWitt: Jared Haack.

Grand Mound: Madison Eschbach.