BETTENDORF — The Ascentra Scholarship Program is helping 10 more future leaders get closer in pursuit of their academic goals to help pay for their college costs.

A total of $10,000 in scholarships is given each year to 10 winners, each receiving $1,000. Five scholarships are awarded to five traditional high school students planning to enter college. Another five are awarded to non-traditional students including students returning to college, adult learners and those seeking degrees in the trades.

The Ascentra Scholarship Program is unique in that students can apply more than once throughout their post-secondary education career. This year, the program saw two repeat winners of the scholarship.

The high school scholarship winners include Spenser Peachee, Davenport; Savannah Bogner, Bettendorf; Gabrielle VanderVinne, Bettendorf; Kathleen Byrne, Bettendorf; and Dillon Tabares, Bettendorf.

The non-traditional or continuing education winners include Luke Giovanine, Moline, Illinois; Grant Nickles, Bettendorf; Alex Belzer, Davenport; Savannah Walker, Davenport; and Alexander Dodd, Clinton.

All entrants are judged on their essay, resume, awards, extracurricular activities, volunteer services and work experience. The competition is announced every October, with the deadline in March of the following year.

“It’s awesome to witness young talent put their work in and capitalize on the unique continuous opportunities offered by our scholarship program structure,” said Alvaro Macias, Ascentra AVP of Community Development.

Learn more about the 2017 scholarship winners, official rules and other scholarship opportunities at

This Week's Circulars