DES MOINES — Ten Iowa students, including one from DeWitt, have been selected recipients of Iowa Newspaper Foundation scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year. The scholarships are awarded to students preparing for careers in journalism. This year’s award recipients include:

n Carter Pitts/Le Mars Daily Sentinel Scholarship, $500: Grace Culbertson will graduate from Waukee High School and attend the University of Iowa.

n Carter Pitts Scholarship Endowment Award, $500: Zoe Trager will graduate from St. Albert Catholic High School and attend the University of Iowa.

n Iowa Journalism Institute Scholarship, $1,000: A graduate of Bettendorf High School, Alex Connor is currently attending Iowa State University.

n David W. Belin Scholarship, $1,000 Camryn McPherson will graduate from Xavier High School in Cedar Rapids and will attend Iowa State University.

n Iowa Newspaper Foundation Scholarship, $500: A graduate of Kennedy High School in Cedar Rapids, Mary Mathis is currently attending the University of Iowa.

n E. K. Shaw Scholarship, $1,200: A graduate of Dubuque Senior High School, Gabrielle Leitner is currently attending University of Northern Iowa.

n Fred W. Woodward Scholarship, $500: Emma Brustkern will graduate from Iowa City West High School and attend Drake University.

n Iowa College Media Association Scholarship, $1,000: Cheyann Neades attends Drake University and is a graduate from Des Moines North High School.

n Morlan Scholarship, $1,000: A graduate from Central DeWitt High School, Sarah Watson is currently attending the University of Iowa.

n Robert K. and Evelyn M. Reiste Memorial Scholarship, $1,000: Patrick Dean Breitsprecher will attend Wartburg College following graduation from Southeast Valley in Gowrie.

The Iowa Newspaper Foundation received more than 80 applications for the 10 scholarships. These annual scholarships are one way the INF contributes to the education of young Iowans anticipating newspaper careers.