United Way of Clinton County, Iowa announced that annual campaign contributions have reached $587,623 for 105 percent of the $560,000 goal, with a few gifts still to be reported.

Bryce Albrechtsen, 2011 campaign chair reported, “We had an exceptional team of volunteers that made this happen. I am pleased to be a part of the United Way because it does so much good in our community. I am thrilled to exceed our goal and to reach a record level of contributions. Our long-term goal is to sustain this level of giving over the next few years to help meet community needs.”

“It’s heartening to see that those in our community want to be a part of the change that gives a better life to those in need,” said Diane Christensen, president of the United Way of Clinton County, Iowa. “These gifts will help many individuals and families struggling during these hard economic times. It takes all of us working together to improve the quality of life in our Clinton communities.”

In addition to reporting the campaign results at a Feb. 23 Volunteer Recognition and Annual Meeting lunch, Board Officers, Trustees, and new Committee Members were elected. Incoming Officers are President Brent Andresen, First Vice President Tom Moser, Second Vice President Travis Flatten, Treasurer Paul Mangin, Campaign Chair Cory Coppess, Community Review Committee (CRC) Chair Karen Marshall, and Past President Diane Christensen. Newly elected trustees are Charlott Glowacki, John Jorgensen, Paula Mayer, Mark Ohnemus, and Ted Tornow. Elected to their second term to the Board of Trustees were Brent Andresen, Diane Christensen, and Sheila Martinez. Elected to the Citizen Review Committee were Aimee Hammel, Pastor Jennifer Henry, Sharon Thomas, Jeni Van Buer, and Heather Wuebben. Returning for another term on the Community Review Committee are Bonnie Freitag, Pat Henricksen, and Karen Mooney.

Recognized for outstanding campaign results were: Camanche Division - 1st Gateway Credit Union; DeWitt Division – Ag Spectrum, Barnes Foodland, ITW, The Observer, and Wendling Quarries; Pacesetter Division – ADM Polymer, ADM Corn Sweetners, Colony Brands, Evergreen Packaging, Nestle Purina, US Bank, Union Pacific, Rock Tenn, and The Alverno Health Care Facility; Professional Division – Winkel Parker Foster, PC; Retail Small Business Division – Ascentra Credit Union, City Clerk Finance Department, City Building and Neighborhood Services Department, Homer’s Deli & Sweetheart Bakery, Skyline Center, Inc., and Target.

Several special awards were presented. LyondellBasell and Data Dimensions Corporation were recognized as Outstanding Corporate Citizens. LyondellBasell not only achieve a 170.8 percent increase in giving, but sponsors the Fork Some Pork BBQ and provides countless volunteers to United Way and other community nonprofits. Data Dimensions realized a 107.3 percent increase in giving this year. Receiving recognition for “Always Being There” for consistent financial and volunteer support were Citizens First Bank, Clinton National Bank, DeWitt Bank & Trust, First Central State Bank & Trust, and Sterling Federal Bank. Gene Machael was also recognized as the Outstanding Campaign Volunteer. He provides many hours of service to United Way as well as other community organizations.

Follow the Clinton Herald on Twitter @ClintonHerald.

This Week's Circulars