The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Breaking News

Opinion

August 12, 2013

Separating ourselves into information tribes

Nonwhite Americans are much more likely than white Americans to have a friend of a different race, a new poll finds. As a black American, I find that to be sad but understandable. After all, when you are in the minority, you are easier to avoid, whether people want to avoid you or not.

The poll released by Reuters/Ipsos on Thursday found that about 40 percent of white Americans say they only have white friends. Only 25 percent of nonwhite Americans said they only have friends of their own race.

That makes an unfortunate amount of sense. Despite our tremendous intergroup progress since the “Mad Men” era, we Americans still live significantly segregated lives, especially outside of the classroom and the workplace.

We usually think of “cultural deprivation” as an affliction of the poor, alienated and disenfranchised. But even the well-heeled and well-connected are more deprived of valuable insights about their fellow humans than we often realize.

Even in our advanced media age, the best way to get to know other groups is through personal relationships. We don’t need scientific studies to tell us that, although many do.

A 2008 study at the University of California, Berkeley, for example, found that pairing up white and Latino students who had been prone to racial-ethnic biases reduced not only their prejudices but their classroom stress, too. Studying is easier, I suppose, when you don’t constantly feel like looking over your shoulder.

The poll comes at a poignantly significant time, between the Trayvon Martin/George Zimmerman tragedy and the 50th anniversary on Aug. 28 of Dr. King’s historic “I Have a Dream” speech.

Remembering Dr. King reminds us of how far we have come in overcoming our racial differences. The fallout from the Zimmerman trial reminds us of how far we have to go.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook