The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 12, 2013

Separating ourselves into information tribes

Nonwhite Americans are much more likely than white Americans to have a friend of a different race, a new poll finds. As a black American, I find that to be sad but understandable. After all, when you are in the minority, you are easier to avoid, whether people want to avoid you or not.

The poll released by Reuters/Ipsos on Thursday found that about 40 percent of white Americans say they only have white friends. Only 25 percent of nonwhite Americans said they only have friends of their own race.

That makes an unfortunate amount of sense. Despite our tremendous intergroup progress since the “Mad Men” era, we Americans still live significantly segregated lives, especially outside of the classroom and the workplace.

We usually think of “cultural deprivation” as an affliction of the poor, alienated and disenfranchised. But even the well-heeled and well-connected are more deprived of valuable insights about their fellow humans than we often realize.

Even in our advanced media age, the best way to get to know other groups is through personal relationships. We don’t need scientific studies to tell us that, although many do.

A 2008 study at the University of California, Berkeley, for example, found that pairing up white and Latino students who had been prone to racial-ethnic biases reduced not only their prejudices but their classroom stress, too. Studying is easier, I suppose, when you don’t constantly feel like looking over your shoulder.

The poll comes at a poignantly significant time, between the Trayvon Martin/George Zimmerman tragedy and the 50th anniversary on Aug. 28 of Dr. King’s historic “I Have a Dream” speech.

Remembering Dr. King reminds us of how far we have come in overcoming our racial differences. The fallout from the Zimmerman trial reminds us of how far we have to go.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook