The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

February 11, 2014

Each of us must promote racial justice

Walking the Walk” was recently used by a speaker who was promoting a vision of an inclusive country while addressing a large crowd on the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday.

These were inspiring words and presented an even greater challenge to each of us to at least take “baby steps” in promoting racial justice. Promoting racial justice is key to protecting one of the basic freedoms and rights in our country as well as in the world.

In our country, the Declaration of Independence in 1776, the Emancipation Proclamation in 1865 and The Universal Declaration of Human Rights adopted by the United Nations General Assembly in 1948, are a few examples of official documents that recognize and encourage the equality of all people.

There are numerous organizational missions that also promote the elimination of racism, such as the YWCA, NAACP and many religious organizations. Some “baby steps” yet critically important steps that we can do to “walk the walk” to eliminate racism are to name and identify racist attitudes, expressions and actions that are in ourselves and others; educate ourselves regarding our language; look at each individual as an equal and as an individual; and attend diversity workshops to educate ourselves with knowledge.

These are just a few examples of what you can do to make a difference by joining with others to promote racial justice.

Laura Anderson, Lori Freudenberg and Nancy Miller, OSF,

Clinton Franciscan Center for Active Nonviolence and Peacemaking

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook