The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

February 19, 2014

Pursue legislative solution for juvenile home

All involved in the debate over the future of girls formerly housed at the Iowa Juvenile Home in Toledo say their No. 1 concern is the welfare of children. They will have a chance to prove that in the coming weeks.

A bill expected to be considered by a Senate committee this week is a way to create safe shelter for troubled girls who otherwise could fall through the cracks as a result of Gov. Terry Branstad’s abrupt closing of the Toledo home.

The draft proposal should at the very least serve as a place to begin discussions between legislators and the governor. All parties should put aside partisan rancor and keep their minds open to what is best for these girls.

The draft legislation approved by a Senate human resources subcommittee last week would create a secure facility for girls adjudicated as delinquent by a judge and assigned to a state training school. It would not accept juvenile girls who are under court jurisdiction as a child in need of assistance, meaning the facility would house only 20 to 25 girls.

The facility would be operated by the state rather than by a private provider. It would have to be accredited by the American Corrections Association and inspected by the Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals.

State-certified classes would be provided through a local school district. The state would continue to provide a continuum of services after girls emerge from the training school when they reach age 18.

“I think this is a great solution,” said Jerry Foxhoven, a Drake University law professor and expert in juvenile law. Foxhoven chaired the task force the governor created last year to study the Juvenile Home. “It solves the problem,” he said of the Senate proposal.

That problem is the challenge the state now faces in placing juvenile delinquent girls following Gov. Branstad’s order closing the Juvenile Home in December.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook