The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

December 19, 2013

Learn how to actively live out peace

Active nonviolence — words that were frequently heard with the passing of Nelson Mandela. He was also compared to other names synonymous with active nonviolence, such as Gandhi and Martin Luther King.

But what exactly is it? How do we live a life of active nonviolence?

The Clinton Franciscan Center for Active Nonviolence and Peacemaking is offering a four week course to teach just that. Using Pace e Bene’s book “Engage,” the center does not pretend that that we can achieve a nonviolent life in only four weeks. This study group is an introduction to methods with which to experiment with other participants. The tools it provides will be useful in applying grounded nonviolence to the challenges of our life and to the cry for change and healing in the world.

Imagine a world with peace, justice, freedom and dignity and for all. The Center for Active Nonviolence and Peacemaking is helping Pace e Bene bring that world into being one person at a time. Nonviolence is more than a principle for effective protest — it is a way of life.

“Engage” is Pace e Bene’s foundational curriculum. It invites participants to deepen the nonviolent life and to build a more just and peaceful world. Designed to be adapted in a wide range of contexts, “Engage” explores the core values and methods of creative nonviolence.

The center offers two work study groups from which to choose — one at the Canticle and one at Zion Lutheran Church. To learn more about “Engage,” see: www.paceebene.org. To register for a study group in Clinton, visit www.clintonfranciscans.com or call 242-7611.

Laura Anderson,

Nancy Miller, OSF,

Lori Freudenberg,

Co-coordinators, Center for Active Nonviolenceand Peacemaking

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Community College provides good, affordable education The people of the Clinton area can be very proud of their outstanding educational services starting with pre-school through the 12th grade. In addition we have Clinton Community College, which provides two more years of education with preparation for

    April 24, 2014

  • Walter Williams mug Wage discrimination everywhere 'President Obama Vows Zero Tolerance on Gender Wage Gap," read one headline. Another read, "Women Still Earned 77 Cents On Men's Dollar In 2012." It's presumed that big, greedy corporations are responsible for what is seen as wage injustice. Before

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Will Illinois school aid formula get a makeover? People in Illinois hear a lot about schools not getting enough funding from the state, but not much about an effort afoot in Springfield to develop a fairer way to distribute the money. Whether Senate Bill 16, the School Funding Reform Act, can achie

    April 24, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook