The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

February 8, 2014

A mixed message

Monday’s report from the Legislative Services Agency on General Fund revenue for the month of January may cause some concern among those looking for ways to dramatically increase state spending.

With state revenue being 1.2 percent below FY 13’s level through seven months, some policymakers are urging caution when considering state spending options and future funding commitments. While many are concerned about the lackluster growth in personal income tax revenue, sales and use tax have increased steadily. Corporate income tax, projected by the Revenue Estimating Conference last fall, has seen nearly double digit growth so far this year. And tax refund payments slowed dramatically in January, which is a significant shift from the previous six months. It is important to note that having a clear view on how state revenue came in during FY 2014 may not be possible until after the fiscal year has closed on June 30. The changes in how tobacco tax revenue and gaming receipts are accounted for will result in the General Fund being reduced in FY 2014. Other factors that impact overall revenue will be the increase in the Earned Income Tax Credit and the first year of the Taxpayers Trust Fund tax credit. These are a significant factor in why General Fund revenue is expected to be less in FY 2014. Last year’s federal tax changes also impact how state revenue figures appears each month.

With the expectation of the Bush-era tax cuts expiring, many Iowans paid certain taxes early to avoid higher rates. Once Congress came to an agreement on tax policy, other taxpayers (primarily farmers) were given a one-time extension on when they were required to file. All these situations created an unusual revenue flow for FY 13. This also makes it difficult to make comparisons with FY 2014. The net effect of all these factors is that it is difficult to forecast just how the fiscal year will end up. Such a blurry picture reinforces the need to keep FY 2015 spending below the projected ongoing revenue number, and it certainly serves as a warning against making major funding commitments in FY 2016 and beyond.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook