The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 1, 2014

Overdue book fines forgiven in January

Fine Amnesty in January! As a holiday gift to our patrons, the library will be offering a fine amnesty from Jan. 2 until Jan. 31 for people who return their overdue materials in January. Also, if you have outstanding fines at the library you may have those forgiven if you come into the library to make the request in person. This amnesty will cover fines only. It will not include replacement costs, processing fees or fines from other libraries. Beginning on Feb. 1, daily fines will increase from 10 cents per day to 20 cents per day for regular materials.

Vandalism. Due to continued vandalism, the Lyons bookdrop is no longer in use. We are sorry for the inconvenience to our patrons.

Copying at the library. In January, the library will be leasing a new printer. This will allow us to offer color copies at both locations. The cost of color copies will be 35 cents each at the Main and Lyons branches of the library. To cover increasing costs for printing, black and white copies will cost 15 cents per page beginning Jan. 2.

Bald Eagle Watch. Join Holly Youngquist, Tamie Bird and Brad Wiles at Clinton Community College between 9 a.m. and 2 p.m. to celebrate the Bald Eagle Watch on Saturday, Jan. 4. We’ll have a take-away activity for kids and share information about upcoming programs at the library with guests who stop by our table.

Afternoon Adventures. Explore your world on Wednesdays from 2:30 to 3:30 p.m. Open to children in grades first through fifth. Just imagine the possibilities with Imagination Station at 2:30 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 8 at the library. Create new worlds with Play Doh, Legos, crafts and games.

Story time. The theme for next week is Snuggle up in your PJs. Children can snuggle up, bring a blanket and wear their pjs. Preschool story time will take place on Wednesday, Jan. 8, at 10 a.m. Toddler Time will take place on Thursday, Jan 9, at 10 a.m. If you have questions, contact children’s staff at 243-5436.

Text Only
Opinion
  • City must find a way to fund sewer work Breaking news this week — EPA mandates are forcing the city of Clinton to evaluate how to fund future sewer improvements. OK, maybe this topic is reviewed each year, but if you checked out Facebook on Tuesday in anticipation of the Clinton City Counc

    July 11, 2014

  • Hillary Clinton's lawyerly past WASHINGTON, D.C. — It should not be necessary to write this column.Lawyers represent clients. Criminal defense lawyers represent clients accused of crimes — sometimes horrible, evil clients accused of heinous crimes. It is the ethical and professiona

    July 11, 2014

  • Gov. Quinn's easy voting ripe for fraud Gov. Pat Quinn said he wants voting to be “as easy as possible.” Well, mission accomplished. It’s so easy now, we fear for vote fraud.Thanks to the bill he signed into law last week, Illinois has about as many ways to vote now as Bubba Gump had to pr

    July 11, 2014

  • Man not interested in relationships DEAR ANNIE: I am a 42-year-old single man who has never been married or even been in a relationship. I’m perfectly content with this, but apparently, the people in my life are not. The truth is, I am not nor have I ever been attracted to either sex.

    July 10, 2014

  • Zamperini was more than a hero Just two pages into the book “Unbroken,” its protagonist is in the water, hiding beneath the deteriorating life raft in which he has been drifting across the Pacific Ocean for almost a month. Overhead, Japanese bombers are circling back to strafe him

    July 10, 2014

  • Governor Quinn removing obstacles to voting Voting is the most basic principle of democracy.Yet few people exercise their right to vote. A lot of it is indifference, but some of it is the obstacles we place in front of people to be able to vote.So, we were pleased Tuesday when Gov. Pat Quinn s

    July 10, 2014

  • Youngquist photo Library adult summer reading program winners announced Our next two adult summer reading winners are Linda Dowson, who wins a free large pizza from Pizza Hut, and Holly Harrington, who wins a free 8-inch cake from Dairy Queen. Congrats to the winners and a huge thanks to our sponsors.Minecraft free play

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Carrie Donaire photo Summer strolls at the Arboretum I was recently invited to greet a tour group at the Bickelhaupt Arboretum and I was genuinely excited to make my way over there on a gloriously sunny, steamy July day. The group who came was comprised of about 25 Master Gardeners who had elected to i

    July 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Don't consider eating restrictions a 'fad' DEAR ANNIE: The current “fad” of gluten-free products is both beneficial and harmful to those of us who must follow a gluten-free diet because of celiac disease. On one hand, it’s easier to find gluten-free foods. But on the other hand, those of us w

    July 9, 2014

  • Spending and morality During last year’s budget negotiation meetings, President Barack Obama told House Speaker John Boehner, “We don’t have a spending problem.” When Boehner responded with “But, Mr. President, we have a very serious spending problem,” Obama replied, “I’m

    July 9, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook