The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 2, 2014

Do not make 'Duck' too PC

True confession: I like “Duck Dynasty.”

Yes, I know I’m not their target audience, as my big-city liberal, Volvo-driving, Chardonnay-sipping, hipster-professional friends are quick to remind me.

Worse, Phil Robertson, the patriarch of the popular A&E reality show’s featured family, has run into a buzz saw of political incorrectness.

Why, I am asked, would I watch a reality show about a family of self-described “rednecks” in backwoods Louisiana who love to hunt and hit pay dirt by making and selling high-quality duck calls?

And I answer, “I have eclectic tastes.” Besides, it’s a funny show, beginning with the long beards that make Robertson, his sons Willie and Jason (”Jase”) and brother Si look like tryouts for a ZZ Top tribute band. The Robertsons invite you to laugh with them, not at them.

To me, the show teaches what I think can be most valuable about TV: its ability to show how much, beneath the surface of our vast cultural diversity, we Americans share a lot in common.

Yet things we don’t share in common often get in the way. With that in mind, I have had a feeling, especially after last summer’s eruption over Southern-style chef Paula Deen’s colorful views on race, that Grandpa Robinson’s folksy backwoods candor was another cultural train wreck waiting to happen.

The feared collision occurred after Phil Robertson told a GQ magazine interviewer his real thoughts about gay rights and race relations, unfiltered by the popular A&E reality show’s producers.

The self-proclaimed “Bible thumper” condemned “homosexual behavior” as a sin and, using imagery too graphic for a family newspaper, equated it with bestiality and promiscuity.

He also offended many African Americans with praise for those who worked “singing and happy” alongside him in cotton fields during his hardscrabble upbringing, “pre-entitlement, pre-welfare,” with “not a word” of complaint about “these doggone white people.”

Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook