The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 4, 2014

NFL blackmails fans with threats of playoff blackouts

The National Football League has proven it is good at blocking and tackling. Once again it shows that it’s not bad when it comes to blackmail, either.

That’s been clear in recent days with news that three of this weekend’s playoff games may not be televised in their local markets if all the tickets aren’t sold. Hence, fans in Green Bay, Indianapolis and Cincinnati must pay up or miss out.

It’s the ultimate threat — and punishment — for fans who support their teams throughout the season then get gouged when games mean the most and rewards are the highest.

Never mind that the majority of tickets have been sold, and the mammoth stadiums will be near capacity. The NFL’s local TV blackout rule is about the game’s image and the opportunity to wiggle every dollar from a fan’s wallet.

In Green Bay and Cincinnati, the teams should offer ticket buyers perks to attend this weekend’s games. At Lambeau Field, the temperature is expected to hover around zero for Sunday afternoon’s game between the Packers and the San Francisco 49ers.

Though it will be warmer in Cincinnati on Sunday, Paul Brown Stadium, which sits along the chilly Ohio River, is still expected to get the coldest temperatures of the year and perhaps a snowstorm.

Granted, playing conditions inside Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis today will be balmy by comparison.

But finding entertainment dollars in the family budget only days after another expensive Christmas and a night out on New Year’s Eve might test the skills of an accountant anywhere.

There’s nothing new about the NFL’s annual guilt trip. It’s just another league tradition.

The blackout rule was instituted in 1973 and has become the bane of Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., who has called the practice archaic and poor policy. That’s especially true, he says, in markets where teams have used public financing to build stadiums.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook