The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 6, 2014

Cut a Snowden deal? It could happen

Some of my long-time friends, online and in real life, have turned against my belief that Edward Snowden deserves a break. Now I know how the New York Times feels, although on a smaller scale.

The Gray Lady’s editorial board shook up the web-o-sphere and chattering classes with its New Year’s Day call to consider “some form of clemency” for Snowden, the former National Security Agency contractor who stole and released a truckload of classified secrets to journalists.

Those journalists include some at the New York Times, by the way, as well as Britain’s The Guardian, which one-upped the Times on that same day by calling for Snowden to receive a full pardon for his “act of courage.”

Among the notably outraged by that suggestion, Rep. Peter King, a New York Republican who seldom holds back, slammed Snowden as a “traitor” and the Times as “apologists for terrorists.”

King is hardly alone in those sentiments. Opinions about Snowden are deeply and passionately divided in ways that cut across party lines, although polls show more Americans call Snowden a traitor than a hero.

Yet the idea of cutting a deal with the former National Security Agency analyst, now receiving temporary asylum in Russia, is not all that outlandish. It was even floated a week before Christmas by Richard Ledgett, who heads an NSA task force assigned to plug up the damage from Snowden’s leaks.

If the data still in Snowden’s possession could be secured, “and my bar for those assurances would be very high,” Ledgett told CBS, “it’s worth having a conversation about.”

In response, President Barack Obama acknowledged in a news conference before his winter break that Snowden’s leaks had launched “an important conversation we needed to have.”

But the president dodged the question of whether Snowden should still be prosecuted, saying inaccurately that Snowden was “under indictment.” Actually, Snowden was named in a criminal complaint, which unlike an indictment does not require a grand jury and does not have to be sealed.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook