The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 11, 2014

HERALD'S OPINION: New council on track to handle city financial woes

The time has arrived.

Two months after Clinton voters restacked their City Council’s lineup by voting four new people into office, it is now time to see how that seven-member group sets goals, analyzes data and works together to reach a consensus as it makes decisions affecting this community.

During a strategic planning session Tuesday, we got our first chance to see the dynamics within the new council and what its members want to have happen in 2014. From what we saw, the council wants to work on the very same areas — the city’s financial position, communication, health of the city and organization/services — that candidates brought up when meeting with the Clinton Herald Editorial Board in late October just prior to the election.

We applaud the council for sticking to that agenda — especially in the area of finances. When asked for ideas Tuesday to maintain and improve the city’s financial position, council members ambitiously listed 13 strategies, including developing a five-year plan and implementing a $1 million cash reserve.

What does concern us is what also surfaced during that meeting: Some new councilmen believe making financial decisions could be difficult because they aren’t being provided enough financial information.

Two new councilmen — Ed O’Neill and Tom Determann — made it clear Tuesday they believe the city is behind on its financial reporting, saying they want up-to-date monthly statements.

Getting such information has been a problem plaguing the city for years, coming to light in 2010 as the city’s financial office was undergoing a change in leadership. At that time, former City Administrator Jeff Horne began overseeing that department and then he successfully hired Jessica Kinser to fill the position of city finance director. After Horne left, Kinser was promoted to interim city administrator and then city administrator, and also hired new Finance Director Anita Dalton — making this their first strategic planning session in their new roles.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook