The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 9, 2013

READERS' LETTERS: Candidate defends reasons for running

CAMANCHE — I am taking issue with certain words and phrasing in the Jan. 1 letter signed by members of the Camanche City Council.

The letter refers to the flyer outlining my position and the reasons I am running in the special election on Feb. 12, 2013.

First: Careful thought was given to the “14 ways to improve our community” flyer — ideas based on information gleaned during my attendance at almost all of the Camanche City Council meetings for the last two years. So, not misinformation, my opinion.

Secondly: I have never threatened city employees.

My suggestion for downsizing city payroll is a fiscal responsibility, not a personal threat.

My position is very clear. I am a conservative and as such, feel that the citizens of Camanche would benefit greatly by having me represent them as part of a checks-and-balances system.

If any Camanche voters would like to meet with me to discuss my position and candidacy, you may contact me at (563) 212-9022.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Charles Blount,

Camanche

___

I was rather puzzled by the letter to the editor from the councilmen from the city of Camanche.

Apparently someone running for the vacant councilman’s seat said the city council was “being out of touch with the economy and real needs of the community.” The Camanche City Council stated that “inaccurate information and unfounded criticism are detrimental and have no place in local politics.” Well, I wonder if any of the city council members watched the Presidential debates. I think the individual running for the vacant seat was rather mild compared to what Romney and Obama threw out at the American public.

You feel that the “property tax rate and utility rates are reasonable.” The taxes in Clinton County are among the highest in the nation.

I have helped 25 property owners with reducing their inflated property taxes over the last six years.

I have folders upon folders on property and property taxes across the United States as well as in Europe. So I think you are out of touch in regard to property taxes.

I must agree, the water and sewer were reasonable. But back in September 2008, you had a 32 percent rate increase and that put you out of the reasonable column. Not as bad as the city of Clinton but getting close since they took over control.

You feel that “you worked hard to reduce costs of the Washington Boulevard project and are very pleased with the way the financing worked out.”

Well, with the inflated property tax “bubble” in Clinton County eight years ago, the city of Camanche should have had so much in cash reserves that you should have been able to pay cash for the project and had plenty left over to install sidewalks throughout the city.

You can take a turn off Washington Boulevard and go east one block, two blocks, three blocks with no sidewalks. So all that being said, I feel you are out of touch with the economy and real needs of this community.

Terry Krogman,

Camanche

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook