The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Breaking News

Opinion

January 9, 2013

READERS' LETTERS: Candidate defends reasons for running

CAMANCHE — I am taking issue with certain words and phrasing in the Jan. 1 letter signed by members of the Camanche City Council.

The letter refers to the flyer outlining my position and the reasons I am running in the special election on Feb. 12, 2013.

First: Careful thought was given to the “14 ways to improve our community” flyer — ideas based on information gleaned during my attendance at almost all of the Camanche City Council meetings for the last two years. So, not misinformation, my opinion.

Secondly: I have never threatened city employees.

My suggestion for downsizing city payroll is a fiscal responsibility, not a personal threat.

My position is very clear. I am a conservative and as such, feel that the citizens of Camanche would benefit greatly by having me represent them as part of a checks-and-balances system.

If any Camanche voters would like to meet with me to discuss my position and candidacy, you may contact me at (563) 212-9022.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Charles Blount,

Camanche

___

I was rather puzzled by the letter to the editor from the councilmen from the city of Camanche.

Apparently someone running for the vacant councilman’s seat said the city council was “being out of touch with the economy and real needs of the community.” The Camanche City Council stated that “inaccurate information and unfounded criticism are detrimental and have no place in local politics.” Well, I wonder if any of the city council members watched the Presidential debates. I think the individual running for the vacant seat was rather mild compared to what Romney and Obama threw out at the American public.

You feel that the “property tax rate and utility rates are reasonable.” The taxes in Clinton County are among the highest in the nation.

I have helped 25 property owners with reducing their inflated property taxes over the last six years.

I have folders upon folders on property and property taxes across the United States as well as in Europe. So I think you are out of touch in regard to property taxes.

I must agree, the water and sewer were reasonable. But back in September 2008, you had a 32 percent rate increase and that put you out of the reasonable column. Not as bad as the city of Clinton but getting close since they took over control.

You feel that “you worked hard to reduce costs of the Washington Boulevard project and are very pleased with the way the financing worked out.”

Well, with the inflated property tax “bubble” in Clinton County eight years ago, the city of Camanche should have had so much in cash reserves that you should have been able to pay cash for the project and had plenty left over to install sidewalks throughout the city.

You can take a turn off Washington Boulevard and go east one block, two blocks, three blocks with no sidewalks. So all that being said, I feel you are out of touch with the economy and real needs of this community.

Terry Krogman,

Camanche

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • What it was like as a teen

    Ten years ago today, I’d like to think I was checking out educational books to prepare myself for my upcoming journey through college.

    In reality, I was probably playing video games and thinking of ways to have fun, while trying not to get into too much trouble.

    July 20, 2014

  • Randy Meier Spoofing practices resurface Spoofing is the practice deliberately falsifying a telephone number and/or name relayed to the caller ID feature of a phone. This type of call right now is the number one phone scam I receive. Many people report receiving calls appearing on caller ID

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Impeaching the president Sarah Palin is right about impeaching President Obama.No, not that the president should be impeached. But Palin is correct in arguing that, for those who assert that Obama has grievously abused his executive authority, impeachment is the proper cours

    July 18, 2014

  • Celebrate the renovated bandshell? Yes, but... I attended the ribbon cutting for the renovated bandshell on July 1. I was a proud member of the Vision 8 team that enabled the project. However, the previous Friday night, June 27, I was also a member of the cast of “Annie Get Your Gun.”When the Nat

    July 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook