The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

May 24, 2013

It's a long road ahead for the graduates

Summer is near and that means hundreds of area teens are preparing for likely what will be the biggest move in their young lives.

Clinton, Camanche and Fulton, Ill., will hold graduation ceremonies this weekend, meaning high school seniors will leave the confines of a school district that many have called home for 13 years, and will make decisions that could impact the rest of their lives.

OK, that seems a bit dramatic, but the decisions made in the next few months for these 18-year-olds can either help or hinder future opportunities.

It’s been almost 10 years since I graduated from high school (nine to be exact, where has the time gone?), and I had already decided my career by that time — journalism. I worked for my town’s newspaper during high school and I made the choice when I left high school that I would major in journalism.

Four years later, I graduated from Northwest Missouri State University with a Journalism degree. My decision at 18 years old obviously had a direct influence on my day-to-day life.

In the years since I made that decision as a high school senior, I’ve picked up some pointers from people far wiser than I, and here are a few suggestions for 2013 graduates.

Have a goal

This seems really easy, but during a loaded semester at college or in a difficult position at work, long-term goals appear a long way away. When going to college, it’s easy to think about walking across the stage and receiving a diploma.

But at 18, four years seems like an eternity. Achieving that final goal is difficult, and by focusing only on that one item, can be daunting.

One aspect that has helped me through my time as a college student and in the work world, has been setting small goals along the way. Sure, my end goal was receiving a diploma, but in the mean time, I set individual milestones to help me get through each year, week and day.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook