The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 16, 2012

Readers support Loebsack’s campaign

CLINTON — If you’re still deciding which Congressional candidate to support this election, I wanted to share with you some information about jobs I find quite interesting.

While Dave Loebsack is working to keep jobs in Iowa, his opponent is not. Simply put, John Archer favors policies that have sent over 11,000 Iowa jobs overseas.

This is outsourcing at its finest, costing Iowa the good paying, consistent, middle class jobs Iowa was built on. The unfair, NAFTA-style free trade agreements that John Archer supports are not good for Iowa and threaten Iowa losing even more jobs to China.

Dave Loebsack, on the other hand, knows that Iowa workers are some of the best in the world and is constantly working to keep jobs here in Iowa, create new jobs, and ensure our workers are trained and ready for the jobs of the future.

Dave does not support the unfair NAFTA-style trade agreements that his opponent does and that cost Iowa thousands of good paying jobs.

Dave puts people, not profits first. Join me in voting for Dave Loebsack on November 6th to support Iowa jobs.

Highland Nichols,

Clinton

____

For anyone traveling along Camanche Avenue in the last few months you may have noticed there has been some road construction.

With the national elections upon us I would like to remind everyone who brought home the bacon for the final phase of the two-year Camanche Avenue project.

November 16, 2011: The Clinton Herald reports that city officials were preparing to depart for Washington D.C.

The priority of the trip would be attaining a Tiger III grant.

The Tiger III grant will be the third round of such discretionary grants, awarded to innovate transportation projects that will help produce jobs. The U.S. Secretary of Transportation, Ray LaHood, wrote on his blog that $14.1 billion worth of requests poured in from all 50 states, but only $527 million is available. More than 800 applications were received.

November 23, 2011: The Clinton Herald reports Clinton Mayor Rodger Holm, along with city administrator Jeff Horne and Clinton Regional Development Corp. president and CEO Steve Ames met with U.S. Reps. Dave Loebsack, Tom Latham and Bruce Braley and Sens. Charles Grassley and Tom Harkin to drum up support for the Department of Transportation-backed Tiger III funds.

The city officials arrived home on Friday but their lobbying trip did not end there. Congressman Loebsack visited Clinton on Monday.

June 23, 2012: The Clinton Herald reports, “Loebsack Brings Grant”. Congressman Dave Loebsack on Friday presented Clinton Mayor Mark Vulich with a $2.7 million ceremonial check for a Tiger grant.

Yes that’s right, our Congressman, Dave Loebsack, brought the highly competitive     $2.7 million Transportation Investment Generating Economic Recovery grant home here to Clinton to be used for the final phase of the Camanche Avenue project. To everyone that worked on this project to help secure the funding to complete it my hat is off to you as well but ultimately it was Dave Loebsack who fought for and brought home the money to complete it.

So come election day when you are going to the poll to vote for who will represent you and me in the United States House of Representatives I hope that you remember who has our interests at heart and who will continue to fight for the needs of Clinton, Clinton County and all of the Iowa 2nd Congressional District.

Cheri L. Canier,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook