The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 31, 2012

Preston graduate supports Easton Valley

CLINTON — I am writing this letter in support of Easton Valley. 

Forget all of the numbers, rumors, and lies you’ve been bombarded with and think of the countless reasons Easton Valley makes sense.

One of the advantages of being born and raised in a small town is the special bond and the ever-present support that we have provided to each other throughout stages of hardship as well as times of joy. 

I think that many of you can recall a time where your community has offered you a helping hand; I know I can. I will forever be grateful for the support that I received during my battle with cancer years ago.

Entering my senior year as a student at the University of Iowa, I’ve been able to get a firsthand taste of life in a rural community as well as a larger, more heavily populated urban area, and the differences are staggering. Both come with their own perks, but the altruism, kindness, and care provided during my childhood and early teen years back home is unmatched and could never be duplicated within a more populous locale.

Without a school, the three small communities of Miles, Preston, and Sabula run the risk of vanishing.

Our small family-owned and operated businesses, which we have worked for decades to build and maintain and take the utmost pride in, stands the chance of closing.

The number of young people moving to this area to start their own families will decline, denying many growing families that small town compassion and support that can’t be duplicated elsewhere. Are you willing to throw away the numerous advantages that small towns offer?  

For the sake of the education of children and the advantage of saving our small communities, can’t you put all your hard feelings and hatred aside?  

With increased focus being placed on education and the push for students to receive degrees from accredited higher institutions to be more ready for the working world, it’s important now, more than ever before, that our youth is receiving the best quality of knowledge and insight as possible.  

Opinions, rivalries, and grudges aside, we can’t deny the fact that we owe this to our communities and our youth.

Take pride in our small communities, join hands with our neighbors, and let’s create a prosperous school district abundant in opportunities.  

On September 11th, 2012, I challenge all of you to find that compassion deep in your hearts and vote yes.

Your community has been there for you, and now is the time to give back.  

Kallie Tebbe,

2009 graduate of Preston High School  

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook