The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 31, 2012

Preston graduate supports Easton Valley

CLINTON — I am writing this letter in support of Easton Valley. 

Forget all of the numbers, rumors, and lies you’ve been bombarded with and think of the countless reasons Easton Valley makes sense.

One of the advantages of being born and raised in a small town is the special bond and the ever-present support that we have provided to each other throughout stages of hardship as well as times of joy. 

I think that many of you can recall a time where your community has offered you a helping hand; I know I can. I will forever be grateful for the support that I received during my battle with cancer years ago.

Entering my senior year as a student at the University of Iowa, I’ve been able to get a firsthand taste of life in a rural community as well as a larger, more heavily populated urban area, and the differences are staggering. Both come with their own perks, but the altruism, kindness, and care provided during my childhood and early teen years back home is unmatched and could never be duplicated within a more populous locale.

Without a school, the three small communities of Miles, Preston, and Sabula run the risk of vanishing.

Our small family-owned and operated businesses, which we have worked for decades to build and maintain and take the utmost pride in, stands the chance of closing.

The number of young people moving to this area to start their own families will decline, denying many growing families that small town compassion and support that can’t be duplicated elsewhere. Are you willing to throw away the numerous advantages that small towns offer?  

For the sake of the education of children and the advantage of saving our small communities, can’t you put all your hard feelings and hatred aside?  

With increased focus being placed on education and the push for students to receive degrees from accredited higher institutions to be more ready for the working world, it’s important now, more than ever before, that our youth is receiving the best quality of knowledge and insight as possible.  

Opinions, rivalries, and grudges aside, we can’t deny the fact that we owe this to our communities and our youth.

Take pride in our small communities, join hands with our neighbors, and let’s create a prosperous school district abundant in opportunities.  

On September 11th, 2012, I challenge all of you to find that compassion deep in your hearts and vote yes.

Your community has been there for you, and now is the time to give back.  

Kallie Tebbe,

2009 graduate of Preston High School  

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook