The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 19, 2013

YOUNGQUIST: Get ready for library's Autumn Fest

The theme for next week is “Moving Along.” Come in to enjoy stories about cars, trucks, trains and planes. Preschool story time will take place on Wednesday, Sept. 25, at 10 a.m. Toddler Time will be Thursday, Sept. 26, at 10 a.m. If you have questions, please contact children’s librarian Tamie Bird at 242-8441.

Killer Reads book club. Our first Killer Reads mystery book club will meet on Tuesday, Sept. 24, at 5:30 p.m. in the library board room on the second floor. The first read will be “The Surgeon” by Tess Gerritsen. At this meeting we’ll pick our next read. Interested readers may still sign up, just contact the library. You can place holds on the book or read your own copy. Snacks will be provided for attendees.

Afternoon Adventures – Grossology Day. Explore your world on Wednesdays from 2:30 to 3:30 p.m. Open to children in grades first through fifth. Are you brave enough to face gross stuff? Come to the library on Sept. 25 to test your mettle.

Genealogy Day. On Friday, Sept. 27, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., come to the Root Cellar to work on your family research. Attendees pay $5 for lunch and receive free copies. To register or if you have questions, email rootcellar@clinton.lib.ia.us or call 242-0840. The Root Cellar houses a large collection of local history and genealogy materials including Clinton area newspapers from 1856 to present, city directories, school records, plat maps, Clinton county birth and death records from 1880 to about 1932, Clinton county marriage records from 1840 to about 1932, early Clinton County land records, and much more.

Autumn Fest. On Saturday, Sept. 28, from 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., the library will be hosting a fun family event. The day will feature live music provided by local band One Brick Shy, lunch supplied by the Cattlemen’s Association – sandwich, chips and drink for $2, a bake sale offered by the Clinton High Drum Line, activities and games for all ages, as well as a special performance by movement artist Sarah Haas. Library Director Amy Birtell will share exciting information with the public about the library building project. Enter a pie in a pie-baking contest to be judged on the day of the event. Attendees can also participate in cake walks and a street fair.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook