The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Breaking News

Opinion

September 26, 2013

Saw palmetto and prostate

DEAR DR. ROACH: I will be 81 years old at the end of September. Two years ago, I was diagnosed with an enlarged prostate, and my PSA was 4.1. I was referred to a urologist. The urologist affirmed my primary doctor findings and suggested that I might want to consider a biopsy, because prostate cancer runs in my family. Since my first visit, I have used saw palmetto. Last month, my PSA was 5.1, and my prostate was not any larger. He prescribed 5 mg finasteride daily. According to what he told me, it would reduce the size of my prostate as well as reduce cancer cells. Well, I took the finasteride for three weeks. I stopped taking it because, according to a medical newsletter, finasteride promotes cancer cells. I am now back on saw palmetto. I sincerely would appreciate your opinion. — R.P.

ANSWER: I carefully reviewed the available papers on the effect of saw palmetto and finasteride, on both prostate enlargement and prostate cancer. There remains uncertainty about this topic, and reasonable doctors can disagree. However, my opinion is that saw palmetto is safe but doesn’t do a lot (if anything) to reduce prostate size, and there is no evidence that it has any effect on the risk of prostate cancer.

Finasteride definitely shrinks prostate size. A study on finasteride showed that it reduced overall prostate cancer by about 25 percent. However, the number of aggressive prostate cancers seemed to be higher in the men who took finasteride. Yet, the apparent increase in aggressive prostate cancer may not have been real: Subsequent studies suggest that finasteride might not increase cancer risk. Trials on a closely related medication, dutasteride, also show a reduction in overall prostate cancer but a possible small increase in aggressive cancers.

I can’t recommend finasteride to prevent prostate cancer, since the data is confusing. However, there is pretty clear evidence that getting regular exercise and eating plenty of fruits and vegetables and low amounts of red meat significantly decrease the risk of aggressive prostate cancer.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook