The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 3, 2013

AG's Office must get out of way of other agencies

In the right, upper corner of www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov, there is a picture of Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller with a quotation that reads, “Our mission is to use the law to serve the people of Iowa. We’re glad you visited and we hope you find exactly what you need.”

And when you scan through the page’s list of “What We Do,” you’ll see a number of important ways the Iowa Attorney General’s office is supposed to be representing the interests of individual Iowans: protecting consumers, working with farmers, helping victims of crime, protecting the environment, protecting charitable giving, raising child support awareness, enforcing tobacco laws, protecting utility customers and issuing attorney general opinions.

But amid all the other important information and helpful links provided on that homepage, there is no mention of how the AG office’s responsibility for “representing state government” often presents an irresolvable conflict of interest for Miller and his staff: When individual Iowans need protection from public officials/employees accused of violating state law and procedures, the attorney general’s office represents the general public making the accusation as well as the state government being accused.

Over the past decade, we’ve found that Miller’s office, when faced with this conflict of interest, typically tries to resolve it to the benefit of state government. This has been especially true when it comes to ensuring government officials and institutions abide by both the letter and the spirit of Iowa’s open government laws. And it’s why we pushed for years for the Iowa Legislature to create an independent Public Information Board that could hear and evaluate such cases without facing the conflicts faced by the AG’s office. (That board, which lawmakers finally created in 2012, will meet Thursday in Iowa City.)

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook