The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 11, 2013

No surprise about large-item pickup vote

It’s not surprising how this week’s vote on large-item pickup went.

If you’re a regular reader of this column, you already know I wrote two months ago about my apprehension in believing that it would be offered this year. Based on previous statements by city officials about their desire to stop the service, I saw this vote coming a long time ago.

It’s too bad residents are forced to pay for a service (37 cents per month per figures distributed by City Administrator Jessica Kinser in June when the city decided to increase solid waste fees) they don’t receive. Sure, 37 cents per month isn’t much, but I wonder if the city will refund that total to its citizens?

I won’t hold my breath...again.

But it’s not the cost or the fact the city can’t help its residents with one minor thing. It’s the lack of accurate information coming out of City Hall.

I may not agree with At-Large Councilman Charlie Mulholland on his views regarding large-item pickup. But I respect the fact he’s willing to come out against it. That’s his opinion and he doesn’t mind sharing it. I know where he stands on the issue.

I wish there was a little more clarity with other city officials.

Throughout this ordeal with large-item pickup, there’s been mass confusion coming from the city.

We’ve heard about numerous communications from residents saying they were told by city officials there wouldn’t be large-item pickup. We also heard from the city there would, including an email I received in August from a City Council representative that said there would be the program in the fall.

So, when one side says two things, and decides on one, does it make it right? No.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook