The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 11, 2013

No surprise about large-item pickup vote

It’s not surprising how this week’s vote on large-item pickup went.

If you’re a regular reader of this column, you already know I wrote two months ago about my apprehension in believing that it would be offered this year. Based on previous statements by city officials about their desire to stop the service, I saw this vote coming a long time ago.

It’s too bad residents are forced to pay for a service (37 cents per month per figures distributed by City Administrator Jessica Kinser in June when the city decided to increase solid waste fees) they don’t receive. Sure, 37 cents per month isn’t much, but I wonder if the city will refund that total to its citizens?

I won’t hold my breath...again.

But it’s not the cost or the fact the city can’t help its residents with one minor thing. It’s the lack of accurate information coming out of City Hall.

I may not agree with At-Large Councilman Charlie Mulholland on his views regarding large-item pickup. But I respect the fact he’s willing to come out against it. That’s his opinion and he doesn’t mind sharing it. I know where he stands on the issue.

I wish there was a little more clarity with other city officials.

Throughout this ordeal with large-item pickup, there’s been mass confusion coming from the city.

We’ve heard about numerous communications from residents saying they were told by city officials there wouldn’t be large-item pickup. We also heard from the city there would, including an email I received in August from a City Council representative that said there would be the program in the fall.

So, when one side says two things, and decides on one, does it make it right? No.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook