The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 1, 2013

EDITORIAL: Getting ready to vote? Here's our analysis

With the election only days away, the Clinton Herald Editorial Board sat down with each candidate running for a seat on the Clinton City Council.

The sessions were similar to a job interview, with board members learning new items about each candidate unknown before this process began. Based on the questions asked and the time we sat down with each candidate, we formulated a joint opinion on how well each person would do as a member of the Clinton City Council.

The questions consisted of learning about how each person would contribute to the growth of the city, how the city can become better in attracting new residents and businesses, significant issues, elements that make Clinton a great place to live and elements that can be changed to make Clinton a better place to live, and a background of experience.

Second ward — Lynn McGraw

McGraw doesn’t have anything to worry about since she is running unopposed. We’re not worried about the lack of challengers, though.

Lynn proved herself throughout the interview, providing us with one of the best sessions. She’s focused on the budget and showcased her ability to listen and make informed decisions. She’s been involved with several groups and knows finance, giving her credibility on the first day she is sworn in.

She can handle herself with any group and showed in the time we spent with her that she was willing to take time, listen and develop a thoughtful response to each question.

Her main emphasis focused on escalating taxes and fees, something that she wants to decrease when joining the council.

As with any new member of the council, she will have a learning curve, especially when trying to make decisions on reducing fees and taxes, and still maintaining the city’s responsibilities. We believe she is up to the task and will be a quality addition to the council.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook