The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 4, 2013

Are digital gadgets robbing us of our boredom?

In this age of endless digital gadgets, entertainment has become so unavoidable that boredom is beginning to look really good.

I have seen this coming as headline news on flat-screen TVs increasingly interrupts my boredom in hotel elevators, at gas pumps and in other formerly humdrum places.

Now the texting and video invasion is coming after our children and grandchildren.

Item: Disney has announced “the first western for preschoolers,” titled “Sheriff Callie’s Wild West,” will debut exclusively on its 24-hour WatchDisneyJunior.com website and app, beginning Nov. 24 — and later come to TV.

As a member of the generation that had to rush home from grade school to watch the original “Mickey Mouse Club” in black-and-white, I am impressed.

So are companies that are seeking business opportunities. More than half of households with kids now own a tablet, says the Disney/ABC Television Group press release, compared to just over 40 percent in 2012.

Item: Disney’s stated target market of ages 2-to-7 looks like old-timers in a new study from the nonprofit research group Common Sense Media. It found that 38 percent of children under age 2 have used a mobile device, like an iPhone or tablet computer -- an increase from 10 percent just two years ago.

Item: Not everyone is thrilled. A new report by the American Academy of Pediatrics reaffirms its earlier recommendation that parents keep tablets, smartphones and other screens away from children under age 2 and prudently limit their screen time in the years after that.

Under age 2? There’s some advice I never expected to hear. But just as my son mimicked me by reaching for the TV remote and aiming it at the TV before he could walk or talk, today’s toddlers are increasingly tech savvy. One wonders, what next? Digital implants at birth? Robo-kids?

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook