The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

May 23, 2013

Programming abounds at Clinton Public Library

CLINTON — Hello Clinton!

I’m Holly Youngquist, the new adult programming and outreach librarian at the Clinton Public Library.

I moved to the area at the beginning of February and you may have met me while I worked at the main library branch located at 306 Eighth Ave. South or at the Lyons branch at 105 Main Ave. I’m excited to get started on this job and bring library programs to the adults of Clinton. In this weekly column, I’ll keep you up to date with what’s happening at the library for all ages.

First up…SUMMER READING! The Clinton Public Library will be offering summer reading programs for babies, children, teens and adults from June 1 to July 31. The 2013 summer reading program themes are: Dig into Reading for babies and children, Beneath the Surface for teens and Groundbreaking Reads for Adults. The goal of this program is to foster a lifelong love of reading and to encourage library use by providing activities for all ages.

So what’s coming up at the library?

Root Cellar. We’re happy to announce the Root Cellar at the main library has reopened. The Root Cellar houses a large collection of local history and genealogy materials and assistance is available daily to aid you in your research.

Homebound Services. If you cannot visit us, we will visit you! Delivery may be arranged by calling Cindy, the homebound coordinator, at 242-8441. Volunteers are always needed for this program. Please contact the Homebound Coordinator to help.

Story Times. Farm! Join the children’s librarians for farm stories on Wednesday, May 29, at 10 a.m.

Preschool story times occur weekly. Toddler Time will be Thursday, May 30, at 10 a.m. If you have questions, contact children’s librarian, Tamie Bird at 242-8441.

Afternoon Adventures. Explore your world on Wednesday, May 29, with a family movie from 2 to 3:30 p.m. Open to children in grades one through five.

Beyond Little House. Love the Little House books? Grow up watching Laura on TV? Join Sarah Uthoff for a program about Laura Ingalls Wilder on Wednesday, May 29, at  6 p.m. in the children’s non-fiction department. Readers of all ages who enjoy Little House on the Prairie are invited to this special evening made possible by Humanities Iowa.

Card-making Basics. Get an introduction to card-making techniques taught by Colleen Hastings on June 1, 2013 at 10:30 a.m. at the Lyons branch. The class will be held at the Lyons branch and class size is limited to 10. Registration required. Call the library at 242-5355 to register.

Program is open to the public. There is a $5 materials fee and other materials costs will be paid by the Friends of the Library. Children younger than 14 must be accompanied by an adult.

Toss, Catch, Dig. Your family will want to catch this act on Tuesday, June 4, at 2 p.m. in the children’s department. Jay and Leslie of Laughing Matters will juggle, play mime baseball, and amaze you with the invisible ball. The show includes Leslie as library archeologist Nellie Dingfod fresh from a dig. Program recommended for ages 3 and up.

Teen Video Gaming Night. On Wednesday, June 5, from 4-6 p.m., YA Librarian Kendra Evers will lead teens in a video gaming night using a super new 60-inch television purchased by the library with funds awarded through a technology grant.

Let’s finish up with a book review for the week.

We all know Frodo’s story, but wait until you read Bilbo’s in The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkein. Bilbo Baggins is an unadventurous hobbit and proud to be so, but one dark night he opens his door to the wizard Galdalf and his life will never be the same. He’s swept away from his safe hobbit hole at Bag End and off to Mirkwood and beyond to the Misty Mountains where he faces trolls, dragons, mysterious elves and more.

And by more I mean Orcs and Goblins. Bilbo becomes separated from his company of stout dwarves and is on the run when he stumbles upon a plain gold ring and a strange creature who wants it back and Bilbo dead.

Riddle me this… With his life hanging in the balance, can he survive a game of questions and if he does, what will be the outcome of his encounter under the mountain?

Holly Youngquist is the adult programming and outreach librarian at the Clinton Public Library.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook