The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 20, 2013

LEVINE: Being a part of the team

“Winning isn’t everything; it’s the only thing.” — Vince Lombardi

Those words are what I’m going to live by when I step on the soccer field Saturday.

In my first coaching gig since early college, I’m leading a group of tenacious, hard-nosed, do-anything-to-win local athletes to the hallowed grounds of the Ericksen Community Center to see how much they want to savor the taste of victory.

We’ve scouted the other team’s best players and have a game plan ready for their up-tempo attack.

That plan came to fruition Tuesday when I initiated our first practice.

OK, so maybe they weren’t as bloodthirsty as a group of over-masculine high school football players, but they jumped for joy during our warm-up session involving jumping jacks.

So it won’t matter who wins and loses Saturday, since my group of 3-, 4- and 5-year-olds will likely get more excited about the after-game snack than the actual kicking of the soccer ball.

This is my life as a dad now. And it’s always something I believed I would do.

My grandfather was a coach, my dad officiated and my brothers and I were always involved in sports (my brother now coaches). Growing up, I thought I would be a coach.

That didn’t quite pan out, so now I’m here, coaching children’s soccer on Tuesday evenings and Saturday mornings.

And after our first practice, I feel good about our team. It’s not that I believe we’re going to steamroll the competition, because I doubt they even keep score. At this age, the process of just knowing what to do on the field is the biggest part of the game.

I was a little nervous going into the first practice because I know what 3-year-olds can be like — I live with one.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Walter Williams mug Wage discrimination everywhere 'President Obama Vows Zero Tolerance on Gender Wage Gap," read one headline. Another read, "Women Still Earned 77 Cents On Men's Dollar In 2012." It's presumed that big, greedy corporations are responsible for what is seen as wage injustice. Before

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Celebrity quack moms are a terrible influence on everyday parents

    On April 15, the actress Alicia Silverstone released a book called "The Kind Mama: A Simple Guide to Supercharged Fertility, a Radiant Pregnancy, a Sweeter Birth, and a Healthier, More Beautiful Beginning." It's chock-full of attachment parenting lessons and dangerous misinformation.

    April 24, 2014

  • Community College provides good, affordable education The people of the Clinton area can be very proud of their outstanding educational services starting with pre-school through the 12th grade. In addition we have Clinton Community College, which provides two more years of education with preparation for

    April 24, 2014

  • Will Illinois school aid formula get a makeover? People in Illinois hear a lot about schools not getting enough funding from the state, but not much about an effort afoot in Springfield to develop a fairer way to distribute the money. Whether Senate Bill 16, the School Funding Reform Act, can achie

    April 24, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook