The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 4, 2013

Lunacy, not logic, continues at the VA

The latest, infuriating entry in the military’s ham-handed handling of sexual assault involves a Catch-22 worthy of Joseph Heller.

Follow the “logic”:

(1) The military acknowledges that most incidents of sexual assault are never reported to authorities. (If you wonder why, see the put-the-alleged-victim-on-trial proceedings just concluded involving the U.S. Naval Academy.)

(2) The military acknowledges that this underreporting includes the most serious forms of sexual assault, such as rape.

(3) The Department of Veterans Affairs acknowledges that such assaults can have consequences, such as post-traumatic stress disorder, that require treatment years later.

Now, the catch.

(4) The VA — backed up in court by the Justice Department — insists that, for purposes of determining eligibility for benefits, the failure to report sexual assault can be used as evidence that it did not occur.

In short, we know these incidents aren’t reported, yet if you don’t report, you’re out of luck. Next case.

This appalling attitude came to light in a just-released opinion from the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, which instructed the VA, in essence, to knock it off.

The ruling, written by Judge Timothy Dyk and joined by Judge Raymond Clevenger, involved two claims. One woman, identified only as A.Z., served from March 1973 to July 1974, receiving an honorable discharge after she became pregnant. In 2004, she was diagnosed with psychiatric problems, including PTSD, which she blamed on sexual and physical abuse by a superior officer who she claims raped her and fathered her child.

The VA rejected the claim because there was no evidence in the record of sexual assault. A.Z. submitted statements from three siblings, who said that in “about her fourth or fifth month of pregnancy [A.Z.] told us she had been sexually assaulted, verbally abused and beaten by Sgt. [J.H.]” and that their sister did not report the incidents to military authorities because she was scared and did not think she would be believed.

Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

  • The cool way of driving around

    Driving around with the windows down has taken on a whole new perspective.
    With spring finally arriving, I was able to roll down my windows, bask in the sunlight and turn up the tunes in my car this week. As I age, the music has changed a bit, and even three years ago, I wrote about the morphing tune of how “cool” I appeared while cruising around.

    April 11, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook