The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 9, 2013

Attendance drops as college football fans shun a bad deal

Let me count the ways college football is seeing a continued decline in attracting fans to stadiums: Overpriced tickets, uncertain starting times, traffic jams, overpriced hotel rooms, some night games ending around midnight, overpriced (again) concessions, long television delays for commercials, terrible opponents, long reviews of disputed plays, parking lot problems, drunks, mid-week games and last but not least — a lousy team.

It wasn’t always this way, but colleges sold their souls to TV networks and the marriage with big business left fans to deal with many inconveniences and price gouging.

Here’s a number that should alarm most athletic directors. As reported in The Birmingham News, through the first five weeks of the 2013 season, attendance at Football Bowl Subdivision games is down 3 percent compared to this time last year. Worse yet, game attendance is off almost 6 percent from the same period in 2011.

News reporter Jon Solomon’s analysis showed average attendance this season is 45,596, down from 47,181 in 2012 and 48,279 in 2011.

Now this is startling: Half of the teams in the vaunted Southeastern Conference have shown dips in crowd size, modest as they may be. The issue isn’t regional as attendance is dropping across the country. So far this season six schools have seen attendance drop by 4 percent or more -- Penn State, Southern California, Michigan State, Iowa, Arkansas and Virginia Tech.

Here’s part of the problem: Games are expensive to attend. Depending on where you go, single game tickets go for $50 each (much more if you go through a broker), parking is another $20 and food and souvenirs, if you take the kids, can break the bank. On the other hand, if you stay home and watch it on a high-definition TV, you get none of the hassles, have a better, sharper view of the game, and can use commercial breaks to run to the kitchen for snacks that aren’t outrageously priced.

Text Only
Opinion
  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook