The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 10, 2013

Health coverage experiment is on

Now that President Barack Obama has placed the Affordable Care Act on the plates of every single American, we’ll find out how they like it.

Monday marked the seventh day into the grand social experiment popularly known as Obamacare, President Barack Obama’s proudest and most important legislative achievement whose goal is to ensure that virtually all 300 million-plus Americans have some form of health insurance.

Whether it will be the grand success its supporters predict, the stunning failure expected by its critics or fall somewhere in between won’t be known for weeks, perhaps longer. In the meantime, all Americans will be finding out for themselves what this incredibly ambitious insurance program holds for them as individuals.

Obama has repeatedly promised over the past several years that the primary benefit of Obamacare will be providing health insurance coverage to those who are not, for a variety of reasons, currently covered. He’s suggested that costs will not be a problem because government-provided subsidies will help underwrite insurance costs for lower-income families.

For most people who already have insurance coverage and see no reason to make any alterations in their plan, Obama has suggested, implementation will be a non-event.

If you like your doctor, he has promised, you can keep him. If you like your insurance coverage, Obama pledged, you can keep it. In other words, don’t worry, be happy, because your life will not be affected.

It’s our fondest hope that Obama’s personal pledge becomes reality. But judging from first impressions, it appears there will be winners and losers as this plays out, and the consequences could be dramatic.

It’s no secret that the economy is in a very slow recovery after a brutal recession and that one of the keys to expanding the economy is growth that encourages businesses to expand and hire. If this country is going to achieve the kind of economic recoveries marked by the Reagan and Clinton years, it needs more people working and paying taxes and fewer people collecting welfare and unemployment benefits.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook