The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 29, 2013

Violence against Women Act protects crime victims

CLINTON — Riverview Center needs your support for an important piece of legislation: Violence Against Women Act. 

VAWA was first passed in 1994, and every reauthorization since then has received overwhelming bi-partisan support.

At the end of 2012, it again came up for reauthorization. However, a resolution couldn’t be reached and the act expired. 

A new version of that bill has been reintroduced. Please get involved and ask your legislators to support VAWA. Why?

• It protects crime victims in our community. Riverview Center is awarded VAWA funding specifically to assist victims in Carroll County. It ensures victims of domestic and sexual violence receive the help needed in our rural area and has allowed Riverview Center to maintain an office in Mount Carroll for free and confidential services.

• It works. Reports of domestic and sexual violence have increased and lethality has decreased dramatically.

• It saves money. It’s first 6 years: VAWA saved more than $14 billion. Budget cuts shouldn't happen at the expense of victims.

• It moves us forward. In 1994, VAWA was revolutionary.  Now we need to enhance these protections.  The new VAWA pushes for better training and regulation on college campuses and extends protection to LGBT abuse victims.

• It's the right thing. VAWA has always been a bipartisan initiative. It communicates that we believe domestic and sexual violence are serious crimes that deserve national attention/resources.

Go to www.riverviewcenter.org/Home/GetInvolved/LegislativeActionNetwork.aspx. to join our Legislative Action Network.  We will provide you with the information needed to contact your elected officials and stay informed about efforts that affect survivors of sexual assault and domestic violence. Sign up now. We need your voice.  

Diane Heath,       

Legal Advocate

Riverview Center, serving Carroll and Jo Daviess counties

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook