The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

April 12, 2013

Coaches ask residents to assist swimming program

The Morrison Seahorse Swim Club started up again during the summer of 2011 after over two years out of the water and without a coach.

The team has continued to grow from the beginning 14 swimmers to 70-plus swimmers currently on the team. The kids are improving at every meet and are progressing from B Times, to BB Times, up to A Times. There are many swimmers who consistently place in the top six at the meets we attend and are winning high point awards.

In fact, at our conference meet our 8 and under girls relay team set a new record in the 100-yard freestyle relay. The record had been in place for seven years.

The Seahorses are definitely building a base of swimmers who will continue to excel in age group, junior high, high school and collegiate swimming. They have received compliments from other teams, coaches, spectators and officials on their age group growth.

Our junior high program has had great growth in size and talent as well as both our high school teams and is able to compete against larger schools such as Rock Island and Moline. We are seeing an increase in team size and talent with the intermixing of club and school swimmers. We are excited for the future of swimming for the youth of our community.

As with any non-profit organization, there are financial needs that must be met to run a successful program. The Morrison Athletic Boosters spent $5,000 during the summer of 2012 to update our software system and part of our timing system, which are both necessary for managing a team and running a swim meet. Unfortunately, the new timing equipment doesn’t work with our outdated scoreboard so we need to purchase a new scoreboard in order to host swim meets at our pool. The timing system currently in place is collaboratively owned and used by all Morrison swim teams (HS Boys and Girls, Jr. High, and MSSC). The Daktronics six-lane scoreboard that we are looking at will cost $8,525. Along with the scoreboard, we are also in need of a new high school record board. The current board is in bad shape due to the humid environment in the pool area and is definitely an eyesore.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook