The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 14, 2013

Reader: There is a better way to health

On Saturday your "Annie's Mailbox" column featured a letter by B. Douglas Hoey, indicating how important "medication adherence" is. 

What he neglected to cite is that 100,000 people die yearly from so-called "properly prescribed" medications. This includes unconscionably-excessive rates of suicide (and homicide) from psychotropic and other mind-altering drugs — which are incessantly advertised on TV. These are also wiping out our brave returning soldiers. 

To put it bluntly, Americans are being overmedicated to death.

The fact is, there is no known disease caused by a drug deficiency. Even "Popular Science" admits that today's drugs are less effective than those made 40 years ago! And drugs often cause nutritional deficiencies and side effects — worsening the very conditions they are purported to treat.

I don't think that taxpayers should give a single cent to this hyper-profitable sickness machine. By any rational measure, the return on our hard-earned dollars is abysmal. Instead of actual cures we get endless "disease management" and broken promises that also bankrupt patients.

Western medicine certainly has a legitimate place, treating acute and traumatic conditions. But we should be providing healthy incentives to grow more and better natural and organic foods. This would be the wisest investment in health we could possibly make; nutrition has saved my life and cured my asthma, after prescription drugs only prolonged my distress. And enlightened doctors take an integrative approach, uniting the best of all medical disciplines.

Let's do the right thing and heal America the natural way. 

Isn't this much better than a toxic, overmedicated "pharmageddon"?

Brent Bielema, 

Fulton, Ill.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Walter Williams mug Wage discrimination everywhere 'President Obama Vows Zero Tolerance on Gender Wage Gap," read one headline. Another read, "Women Still Earned 77 Cents On Men's Dollar In 2012." It's presumed that big, greedy corporations are responsible for what is seen as wage injustice. Before

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Celebrity quack moms are a terrible influence on everyday parents

    On April 15, the actress Alicia Silverstone released a book called "The Kind Mama: A Simple Guide to Supercharged Fertility, a Radiant Pregnancy, a Sweeter Birth, and a Healthier, More Beautiful Beginning." It's chock-full of attachment parenting lessons and dangerous misinformation.

    April 24, 2014

  • Community College provides good, affordable education The people of the Clinton area can be very proud of their outstanding educational services starting with pre-school through the 12th grade. In addition we have Clinton Community College, which provides two more years of education with preparation for

    April 24, 2014

  • Will Illinois school aid formula get a makeover? People in Illinois hear a lot about schools not getting enough funding from the state, but not much about an effort afoot in Springfield to develop a fairer way to distribute the money. Whether Senate Bill 16, the School Funding Reform Act, can achie

    April 24, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook