The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

June 28, 2013

Reader questions how city dollars are spent

Let me first ask why do we have a $1.8 million shortfall?

Where were all of our taxes going? Apparently they weren’t going where they were needed, and while I am at it just because Jessica Kinser got a big raise when she was put as city administrator does not mean we all did.

I wonder if she actually knows what the average wage is in this town. I guess to put it bluntly to her we have been drained dry with all these ridiculous price hikes. So if she is the smartest one out of all that applied for city administrator then she should be able to come up with a way to pay for all of this without stealing it from us and stealing is what you are doing. When you take money from us without our approval then in my book, it’s stealing.

Now let’s talk about covering the water damage at and I put this in capital letters ASHFORD FIELD because they are the ones who are leasing it so just what do they pay for? They seem to want to run this town so let them foot part of the bill.

We are always in such a hurry to spend our money for the stupid things and let the smart things go untouched or pay top money for undesirable work.

appreciate the effort from Jason Craft and I know his hands are tied with what he has to work with as far as spending on street repair but because the city officials refused to do anything about the streets in this town we are now forced to repair them in a poor standard that we will be facing again in the coming years because we didn’t do it right now.

Doesn’t take an engineer to see the shabby work being done to some of these roads. Riverfront drive, which in my opinion gets more traffic then most of the streets, was poorly done and is already showing it. By the time we get done with the last street repair we will have to start all over again, which we all know won’t happen so we are back to driving on pothole filled roads again.

Look what is happening in Camanche and they are at least fighting to get what they paid for.

Like I said before we always find the money to spend on the stupid things but never find enough for the smart things. I would much rather see my tax dollars go for top notch street repair than to see it flushed down a toilet.

Ron Wynkoop,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

  • The cool way of driving around

    Driving around with the windows down has taken on a whole new perspective.
    With spring finally arriving, I was able to roll down my windows, bask in the sunlight and turn up the tunes in my car this week. As I age, the music has changed a bit, and even three years ago, I wrote about the morphing tune of how “cool” I appeared while cruising around.

    April 11, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook