The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

June 28, 2013

Reader questions how city dollars are spent

Let me first ask why do we have a $1.8 million shortfall?

Where were all of our taxes going? Apparently they weren’t going where they were needed, and while I am at it just because Jessica Kinser got a big raise when she was put as city administrator does not mean we all did.

I wonder if she actually knows what the average wage is in this town. I guess to put it bluntly to her we have been drained dry with all these ridiculous price hikes. So if she is the smartest one out of all that applied for city administrator then she should be able to come up with a way to pay for all of this without stealing it from us and stealing is what you are doing. When you take money from us without our approval then in my book, it’s stealing.

Now let’s talk about covering the water damage at and I put this in capital letters ASHFORD FIELD because they are the ones who are leasing it so just what do they pay for? They seem to want to run this town so let them foot part of the bill.

We are always in such a hurry to spend our money for the stupid things and let the smart things go untouched or pay top money for undesirable work.

appreciate the effort from Jason Craft and I know his hands are tied with what he has to work with as far as spending on street repair but because the city officials refused to do anything about the streets in this town we are now forced to repair them in a poor standard that we will be facing again in the coming years because we didn’t do it right now.

Doesn’t take an engineer to see the shabby work being done to some of these roads. Riverfront drive, which in my opinion gets more traffic then most of the streets, was poorly done and is already showing it. By the time we get done with the last street repair we will have to start all over again, which we all know won’t happen so we are back to driving on pothole filled roads again.

Look what is happening in Camanche and they are at least fighting to get what they paid for.

Like I said before we always find the money to spend on the stupid things but never find enough for the smart things. I would much rather see my tax dollars go for top notch street repair than to see it flushed down a toilet.

Ron Wynkoop,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook