The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 15, 2013

Through your giving, United Way makes a difference in residents' lives

The United Way of Clinton County is solving problems in our community. These positive results did not happen by chance, but by choice because generous people in our community invested in the United Way to make an impact in the education, income and health of our communities.

The twenty-five funded United Way programs received more than 40,000 requests for assistance last year and provided more than $400,000 in services to Clinton County residents.

Your gift of any size can make a difference. A contribution of $10, $25, $50, $100, $250 or more is combined with those from area business and industry along with those from your friends, neighbors, and family to tackle tough community issues and implement effective solutions.

Our community prospers when students graduate prepared for work, career, or college; families achieve financial stability and everyone leads healthy lives.

Deciding how your charitable donation can make the greatest impact can be challenging. At United Way of Clinton County, Iowa, we understand. Every day, we work with community leaders, non-profit agencies and engaged citizens — people just like you — to make tough decisions about how to have the greatest impact on the community’s most critical issues. As your United Way, we work for you — listening, compiling data, leading community conversations, motivating and inspiring volunteers, organizing collaborative efforts, and pursuing resources and partners to implement strategies that deliver measurable results.

We ask you to join us in raising at least $620,000 in this fall’s annual campaign. Partner agencies need $100,000 more to help everyone that walks through their door. If you have enjoyed an increase in income, consider giving a little more this year. Funded programs stretch their dollars as much as they can, yet costs go up for them as well expenses for those they serve, every year. Your continued and generous support helps family, friends and neighbors when they need help.

The United Way of Clinton County, Iowa is local and accountable; you know exactly where your money is invested and the impact it has.

Travis Flatten is the United Way 2013 Campaign Chairman.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook