The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 27, 2012

READER'S LETTER: Teachers, districts must review social networking policies as school begins

CLINTON — Soon teachers will be going back to in-service in their districts.

As a former teacher, I have a suggestion for local school leaders — put this topic high on your agenda at in-service: Teachers and Facebook.   

Unfortunately teachers already deal with the misuse of cell phones in the classrooms.  

Guidance counselors already deal with Facebook wars.  

The advantages of technology in the classroom are tremendous, but social networking sites like Facebook are dangerous, particularly when teachers invite students to be friends.   

The Dec. 10, 2010, issue of the School Leader Update (p. 15), a newsletter put out by the Iowa Department of Education, addressed the issue of Facebook in its “Legal Lessons” section.  The legal department gave “Policy Pointers” to educators on the subject. 

It recommended that “educators limit student access to their site (Better yet, prohibit student access to any personal site not maintained solely for instructional purposes), never post images of students, keep a strictly professional relationship with students on such a site, and do not ask to be a student’s friend on the student’s site and do not accept a student’s invitation to be his/her friend.”    

When Facebook started, I joined just to see what my students were talking about.  I accepted one friend and as soon as I did, I was bombarded with friend requests.  I never accepted another student.  The red flag, for me, at least, had gone up.  

I strongly believe that the staff, school boards, and administration in all Iowa districts have an obligation to listen to the advice of the Department of Education and ask their teachers to stop social networking with students.

The Northeast, East Central, and Preston districts are troubled due to merger issues. Facebook is contributing to the unrest.  Kids watch what adults do and say. They spend tons of time social networking via cell phones, tablets, iPods, you name it.

I ask all school leaders, whatever district they belong to, to discuss the topic Teachers and Facebook in the days ahead.  

I ask all educators (administration and school board included) in all districts, whose students listen to them and respect them, to review their use of Facebook.

Laurel Gruhn,

Former English and technology instructor, East Central Middle School

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook