The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 27, 2012

READER'S LETTER: Teachers, districts must review social networking policies as school begins

CLINTON — Soon teachers will be going back to in-service in their districts.

As a former teacher, I have a suggestion for local school leaders — put this topic high on your agenda at in-service: Teachers and Facebook.   

Unfortunately teachers already deal with the misuse of cell phones in the classrooms.  

Guidance counselors already deal with Facebook wars.  

The advantages of technology in the classroom are tremendous, but social networking sites like Facebook are dangerous, particularly when teachers invite students to be friends.   

The Dec. 10, 2010, issue of the School Leader Update (p. 15), a newsletter put out by the Iowa Department of Education, addressed the issue of Facebook in its “Legal Lessons” section.  The legal department gave “Policy Pointers” to educators on the subject. 

It recommended that “educators limit student access to their site (Better yet, prohibit student access to any personal site not maintained solely for instructional purposes), never post images of students, keep a strictly professional relationship with students on such a site, and do not ask to be a student’s friend on the student’s site and do not accept a student’s invitation to be his/her friend.”    

When Facebook started, I joined just to see what my students were talking about.  I accepted one friend and as soon as I did, I was bombarded with friend requests.  I never accepted another student.  The red flag, for me, at least, had gone up.  

I strongly believe that the staff, school boards, and administration in all Iowa districts have an obligation to listen to the advice of the Department of Education and ask their teachers to stop social networking with students.

The Northeast, East Central, and Preston districts are troubled due to merger issues. Facebook is contributing to the unrest.  Kids watch what adults do and say. They spend tons of time social networking via cell phones, tablets, iPods, you name it.

I ask all school leaders, whatever district they belong to, to discuss the topic Teachers and Facebook in the days ahead.  

I ask all educators (administration and school board included) in all districts, whose students listen to them and respect them, to review their use of Facebook.

Laurel Gruhn,

Former English and technology instructor, East Central Middle School

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook