The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

April 1, 2013

Celebrate Community College Month with CCC

April is Community College Month and Clinton Community College will be celebrating throughout the month.

Once again our theme for the month is our connections —connections to our students, our alumni, our faculty and staff, and our local communities. We know that each of these groups has enriched our college and we are thankful for the connections we have developed throughout the years. I invite you to celebrate with us! There will be a variety of activities on campus to mark the month — I hope you will consider joining us.

This year is a very special year for us as we will be preparing for our 65th commencement exercises. Sixty-five years of graduates. Sixty-five years of assisting students to reach their goals. Sixty-five years of connections between our students and staff and our college and the communities we serve. We are proud of our history and our many connections and are very humbled to be able to serve this area.

Over the last 65 years many things have changed. We have grown as a college. Our enrollments have increased and we have expanded our facilities. We have worked to improve opportunities for our students. We have worked to expand our curriculum and the technology used in our teaching. We have become more mature as a college and have established many partnerships with four-year colleges and employers to assist our students as they complete with us.

However, there are many things that have not changed since our first graduating class 65 years ago. CCC’s commitment to access, quality and affordability remain important values for us today. We continue to be committed to providing quality higher education opportunities to our communities.

The expansion of our facilities has provided access to our residents in both Clinton and Jackson counties. A curriculum that prepares students for either transferring to a four-year college or university or preparing them for the workforce allows our students to stay close to home while continuing their education. Training in our local industries assists businesses to maintain a qualified workforce without having to leave the community. And, our Adult Basic Education programming provides individuals the foundational skills needed to begin their education.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook