The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

April 1, 2013

Celebrate Community College Month with CCC

April is Community College Month and Clinton Community College will be celebrating throughout the month.

Once again our theme for the month is our connections —connections to our students, our alumni, our faculty and staff, and our local communities. We know that each of these groups has enriched our college and we are thankful for the connections we have developed throughout the years. I invite you to celebrate with us! There will be a variety of activities on campus to mark the month — I hope you will consider joining us.

This year is a very special year for us as we will be preparing for our 65th commencement exercises. Sixty-five years of graduates. Sixty-five years of assisting students to reach their goals. Sixty-five years of connections between our students and staff and our college and the communities we serve. We are proud of our history and our many connections and are very humbled to be able to serve this area.

Over the last 65 years many things have changed. We have grown as a college. Our enrollments have increased and we have expanded our facilities. We have worked to improve opportunities for our students. We have worked to expand our curriculum and the technology used in our teaching. We have become more mature as a college and have established many partnerships with four-year colleges and employers to assist our students as they complete with us.

However, there are many things that have not changed since our first graduating class 65 years ago. CCC’s commitment to access, quality and affordability remain important values for us today. We continue to be committed to providing quality higher education opportunities to our communities.

The expansion of our facilities has provided access to our residents in both Clinton and Jackson counties. A curriculum that prepares students for either transferring to a four-year college or university or preparing them for the workforce allows our students to stay close to home while continuing their education. Training in our local industries assists businesses to maintain a qualified workforce without having to leave the community. And, our Adult Basic Education programming provides individuals the foundational skills needed to begin their education.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook